Auto Registration Florida Personalized License Plates
Florida residents who want personalized can order them at motor vehicle service center throughout Florida in person.
You have to pay an additional $15 for the annual fee for each personalized license plate. You will also need to fill out the Application for Personalized License Plate which is Form HSMV 83043.
Once done, you can bring it to a local office for processing. Click here for additional information!
Complete Your Registration Renewal Offline
If Florida drivers do not want to use the GoRenews online platform, they are able to renew registration via mobile app or in person at any DMV. Drivers may renew registration of up to 5 vehicles for a period of 1 to 2 years using the FLHSMV app called MyFlorida. Download it on iTunes here and Google Play here.
This app requires 1 of the following pieces of information:
License plate number
Vehicle identification number
Hull identification number
If FLHSMV is unable to verify valid insurance on the vehicle or vessel, no registration will be issued. If successfully renewed, customers will receive a printable certificate to use until registration arrives in the mail. Your registration should arrive within 8 to 15 business days. Customers utilizing the mobile app will be charged a $4.00 processing fee payable with a credit card.
Vehicle owners also have the option of going into their nearest DMV office to renew registration. The perk of going in person to renew FL registration is that the Florida DMV will provide registration and plates the same day. Here is a complete list of what to bring to the DMV:
Your registration renewal notice or registration certificate if you didnt get your reminder.
Your drivers license or FL ID card
Proof of valid auto insurance
How To Establish Residency And Register Your Out
If you need to register an out-of-state vehicle, you must complete the registration process in person at a DMV within 10 days of establishing Florida residency. You can establish residency in Florida if:
You have resided in Florida for more than half the year
You are employed in the state
You are registered to vote
Your children attend public school in Florida
If you live in two states , but want to establish residency in Florida, you can file a Declaration of Domicile. A copy of this application can be found here.
Registering your vehicle at the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Office can become an easy process if you are prepared on what to bring. Necessary documentation to bring to the Florida DMV include:
Proof of identity
Proof of Florida insurance
Previous vehicle registration and title
Current license plate
Current certificate of state title or you can apply for a new vehicle titling. The DHSMV will provide you with paperwork for this application.
Completed application for certificate of title with/without registration. This document can be found here.
An inspection report of your Vehicle Identification Number . for a copy of the form. Refer to the fifth heading Getting your Car Inspected in Florida: A Requirement for Registration for details on getting a VIN inspection.
Also Check: How Much Is Car Registration In California
Just Moved To Florida
If you’ve just moved and have your new license plates, Florida law says you’ll have 10 days in which you will need to register your vehicle with the FL Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles after you have started:
- Working in Florida.
- Registering your kids in a Florida education program.
- A lease or rental agreement with an apartment owner or homeowner.
What Do I Need To Renew My Florida Registration Online
In order to renew your Florida car registration online, you need a strong Internet connection and a great working computer!
The FLHSMV provides a convenient, easy and quick way to renew a vehicle registration online!
For Florida residents who need to renew a registration online, you must have a personal identifying information of the owner of the vehicle to log in and complete activities.
If FLHSMV is isnt able to verify valid insurance on the vehicle, you can’t register your car.
If there are stops on the registration, customers must go into an office or call FLHSMV Customer Service at 617-2000 about the stop on the registration.
Additionally Florida residents who use GoRenew.com can expect to receive their registration in the mail within 7-10 business days from the transaction.
Read Also: Carcareone Card Accepted
What Fees Will I Have To Pay
The amount of money you will pay for registration fees depends on your cars weight and class. For instance, if you have a car that weights up to 2,499 pounds, you will pay an annual tax of $46.15, but a truck that weighs between 3,001 and 5,000 pounds will be required to pay $70.65. The same thing goes for the biennial tax and corresponding fees: these numbers increase as the weight of your vehicle increases. The DHSMV offers a complete list of Florida registration fees online.
Depending on the circumstances, you may have to pay additional fees too. These could include:
- Transferring a license plate from another car: $7.35
- Issuance of a new metal license plate: $28.00
- Initial Registration fee: $225.0
- You will be charged an Initial Registration fee if you do not have a Florida vehicle registration to transfer.
There are registration fees for other types of vehicles, like motorcycles and trailers, too, but thats another story.
Complete Your Car Registration Renewal Online In Florida
All vehicles must maintain up-to-date registration in order to be legally driven on Florida roads. Most FL vehicle registration renewals are scheduled every one or two years. You may also renew your vehicles registration up to three months before the renewal date. There is no grace period allotted in the state of FL, so vehicle registrations expire at midnight on the registered owners birthday.
The only exception to this rule is if the vehicle is considered a heavy truck and is owned by a business. In the case, the registration renewal date is either June 30 or December 31 depending on the registration certification.
If you fail to renew your registration prior to the end of the expiration month, a late fee will be added to the total renewal fees. This amount is solely based off of the license tax for your vehicle. For more information on the specific delinquency fee, please see How to calculate taxes and fees for Car Registration in Florida.
Exceptions to this periodic renewal date include if the owner is a business and if the vehicle is considered a heavy truck. In the case of a heavy truck, the registration renewal date is either June 30 or December 31 depending on your registration certification.
The state of Florida has a designated online platform for Florida residents to make registration renewals easy and convenient. Renewals can be processed here.
Registration renewal notice or registration card
Proof of auto insurance
Also Check: Carvana Buy Out Lease
Registering A Car In Florida
A duplicate of a lost vehicle registration can be issued at any local branch office of any Florida Tax Collector.
To get a replacement, you must provide the vehicle decal number, the vehicle license plate number, or the VIN, which is the vehicle identification number and a valid photo ID.
For persons unable to visit an office, you can visit www.gorenew.com and request a duplicate from the state. There is a fee of $2.50 for a duplicate registration.
Getting Your Car Inspected In Florida: A Requirement For Registration
Many states require annual vehicle inspections to regulate vehicle emissions and limit their environmental impact. Unlike many other states, Florida is pretty relaxed when it comes to inspections and does not require yearly car inspections or smog tests.
Florida law requires a physical VIN inspection on all registered vehicles in order to identify stolen vehicles and prevent vehicle fraud, however Floridadealerships already complete the VIN and odometer verification inspection for in-state vehicles.
If the car is purchased from out-of-state, the owner will need to have the VIN inspected and record an odometer reading to make sure it matches with your lien. You can complete VIN verification with any service member such as law enforcement at a police station, any active dutymilitary service personnel, or any licensed Floridacar dealers or at any Florida DMV. Depending on where you get VIN verification, the fee ranges between $10 and $40.
Information to bring to your VIN inspection include:
Vehicles out-of-state title and registration
Proof of identity
Proof of state auto insurance
Drivers may submit the vehicles registration in lieu of a title if the vehicles lien holder has the title certificate
Also Check: How To Fix A Cigarette Burn In Car
Buying A Car From A Dealership
The dealership needs to transfer the vehicle’s title and registration within thirty days or less. If the dealership fails to register your new vehicle within that timeframe, contact your local DMV urgently to advise on how to proceed.
The Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles will have the list of contacts you need for your local county.
Moving To Florida Drivers License
There are a number of prerequisites to registering your vehicle in Florida. First of all, you need to get a Florida drivers license. This can be as simple as passing an eye exam if your driving record from your previous state is clean. But if there are any unresolved traffic citations on your previous states driving record, or if the Florida DMV examiner questions your ability to safely operate a vehicle, you may be requested to take a written and/or driving test. This can add weeks to the process depending on schedule availability. Another prerequisite to registering your vehicle in Florida is obtaining a valid Florida auto insurance policy. Again, this can be as simple as a phone call, or more difficult if your driving record contains traffic citations which were not considered by your previous insurance carrier .
The final hurdle to registering your vehicle in Florida is obtaining a copy of the cars title. This is a simple matter if you own the car outright, in which case you should have a copy of the title issued by the previous state. But if your car is leased or financed, you must obtain a copy of the title from the lienholder. This can take a while, and by a while we mean several months, depending on the previous state and lienholder .
It is worth noting here that the penalty for driving with an expired drivers license and/or license plate is a second-degree misdemeanor, with penalties of up to 60 days in jail and a $500 fine.
Read Also: How To Paint Car Interior
New Resident Florida Sales Tax
In Florida, you may need to pay sales, local discretionary, and use taxes on your new motor vehicle purchase when you first register it in your home state. Whether or not you need to pay these taxes depends on the period of time you have had the car and your choice of license plate.
For vehicles owned six months or less:
- Florida sales tax is prorated. It depends on the taxes already paid in a different state
For vehicles owned longer than six months:
- You won’t need to pay discretionary, sales, or use taxes for an owned vehicle bought in a different state
- Your new title and initial registration fee from the different state needs to stipulate that you have been the motor vehicle owner for longer than six months
Why Does My Car Need To Be Registered
You are required to register your car in Florida if you are a resident of Florida, which means:
- You have a child enrolled in school in the state,
- You are employed in Florida,
- Or you have a physical address in the state.
It is mandatory for every resident to register his/her vehicle with the state of Florida within 10 days of any of the above things occuring. If there is no proof of registration or insurance, you could lose your license for up to three years in the state. You will likely be required to pay a fee as well.
Also, having your car registered ensures that the vehicle is safe and legal to drive so that you will not put yourself or others at risk when you are on the road. It is important to register your vehicle, regardless of your state of residence.
You May Like: What Gas Stations Accept Synchrony Car Care
What To Do If Your License Plates Or Validation Decal Is Stolen
Maybe you noticed that your front license plate was missing when you came out to the car in the morning. The first thing to do is call your local police department and file a report.
Next, download the required form and fill it out. Take the police report, completed form, and the rear plate to your local FDHSMV office and a new set of plates will be issued to you for free! Imagine that, a state agency that doesnt ask for extra money.
New Boat Titling In Florida
After buying a new boat, residents can acquire a title by providing the following at their county tax collector or license plate agent office:
- A proof of ownership documentation such as:
- Manufacturers Certificate of Origin.
- Official statement of the vessels builder.
- Dealers bill of sale.
Only available in person at the tax collector/license plate agent office.
- Payment for all appliable boat titling fees
Don’t Miss: Can You Lease A Car From Carvana
Car Insurance Requirements In The State Of Florida
Similar to most states in the United States, without registering your car and proof of insurance, you are not legally permitted to drive your car in Florida. There is a minimum of requirements that you must meet for your car insurance including property damage, personal injury protection, and bodily injury protection. These requirements are mandatory for citizens of Florida to protect the community as a whole.
The Florida minimum car insurance requirements are:
- Property damage: $10,000 per accident
Personal injury protection:
- $10,000 per person
While these are the minimum required coverage limits, its often recommended to purchase more coverage to receive more protection for yourself and your car.
If you get caught with an unregistered vehicle or without proof of insurance, you could be required to pay a fine and could get your license suspended.
While there are many car insurance companies available in Florida, consumers say that some are better than others. For a live ranking of the best car insurance companies in Florida according to Florida consumers, visit Clearsurances Florida car insurance rankings page.
New Residents Of Florida
Residents new to Florida have 30 days to register and title their vehicle with their local Florida DHSMV once they:
- Start a job in the state.
- Register their children for a school in Florida.
- Establish residency in Florida through rental, lease, or purchase an apartment or house.
Florida residents are required to title their car or truck in the state of Florida at the same time they register the vehicle. FL residents can title their vehicle without registering it, but it cant be driven legally in the state if the vehicle is not registered.
You May Like: How To Get Off Enterprise Dnr List
How To Register Your Vehicle Online
Many states provide car owners with a convenient way to register their vehicles through their website. Some online services will allow you to complete the entire registration process online, while others will allow you to fill out your paperwork and print it to reduce the processing time at the DMV. According to Lifewire, w hen allowed to register your vehicle online completely after the initial purchase, you will be mailed the plates and registration, which can make the process exceedingly easy. There are some states where new car renewals and transfers must be done in person, but some states allow both new and renewal registrations to be completed online.
Florida Car Registration Fees
Arranging payment for the total car registration cost in Florida is the last step toward obtain valid vehicle documents. Note that the department imposes various car registration fees, since it completes both the titling and registration processes at the same time. A sample of the most common FL vehicle registration fees is outlined below:
- $225 initial registration fee for applicants who have not yet been issued a Florida car registration
- $27.60 for a one-year registration or $55.20 for a two-year registration for passenger vehicles weighing less than 2,500 pounds
- $35.60 or $71.20 for a one-year or two-year registration, respectively, for passenger vehicles weighing between 2,500 and 3499 pounds
- $45.60 or $91.20 for a one-year or two-year registration for private vehicles weighing 3,500 or more
- $7.35 plate transfer fee, if applicable
- $28.00 new plate issuance fee
- $77.25 original paper title fee
- $2 lien recording fee
- $20 additional late title and registration fee, if applicable
Don’t Miss: Patch Cigarette Burn In Car Seat