Does Insurance Follow The Car Or Driver In Florida
In Florida, auto insurance follows the vehicle and not the driver. That means your coverage still applies even if you are not the one driving it during an accident. Since the state is a no-fault state, your insurance carrier may cover expenses related to damages caused by anyone driving your car and the medical expenses they may incur.
What You Need To Know About Insurance When Renting A Car In Florida
Floridas theme parks, stunning beaches and creative hot spots offer visitors the vacation of a lifetime. With a car rental in the Sunshine State, you can easily explore the delights of its coastal cities as well as travel inland to explore the semi-tropical wetlands and parks. Floridians are known for their laidback sensibility and knowing that you are protected can also help you to relax and have a stress-free vacation. Read on to find out details about your protection options in Florida that can help you in the case of an event.
Do I Need Uninsured Motorist Bodily Injury Coverage In Florida
Uninsured/underinsured bodily injury coverage is also recommended, with the following minimum limits:
- UM/UIM BI: $10,000 per person, $20,000 per accident
Note: This coverage can be rejected.
Uninsured motorist coverage covers medical expenses for you and your passengers if you’re hit by a driver with no insurance or not enough car insurance coverage. To ensure all of your assets are protected in case you’re liable in an auto accident, you can increase your limits beyond your state’s requirements to cover your total net worth.
Progressive’s Snapshot® discount program personalizes your rate based on your driving. The safer you drive, the more you could save. See more on Snapshot.
Do I Need Insurance For A Vehicle That Doesnt Get Driven
o, youve moved to a city or youre taking more public transportation, either way youre not driving. You may be wondering, Do I have to insure my vehicle if I am not driving in it?
Well, maybe not, but maybe you should.
To ensure your parked automobile is safely insured, first, make sure your end of the deal is taken care of: Consider comprehensive coverage.
Store your vehicle away properly. You must prepare your automobile if youre planning on leaving it undriven for a long period of time. Make sure you remember what steps to take before storing it away.
So, youve cleaned up and prepared your automobile. Now, what sort of coverage do you need?
Car Insurance Coverage Options
Do you have to have car insurance in every state? Though the level of auto insurance you have to have in every state differs, youll normally need a certain amount of liability insurance in case you hit someone elses vehicle or other property while youre driving.
Liability insurance will pay for the damages. Then, you have collision insurance. Collision is there to cover your own damages if youre hit by an uninsured vehicle or if youre found to be at fault.
Though the details depend on your insurers requirements, parked-auto insurance is special because it allows you to drop liability and collision. If you only carry comprehensive on the vehicle, you must not drive the automobile at all.
Florida Dui/dwi Laws And Penalties
Florida DUI laws state that drivers with a Blood Alcohol Concentration of 0.08 or more are considered to be driving under the influence. Florida DUI laws also prohibit driving under the influence of controlled substances such as marijuana, cocaine or inhalants.
Florida Penalties for DUI First Conviction
- Fine $250 to $500
- Probation Not more than 1 Year
- Imprisonment Not more than 6 Months
- Imprisonment with BAL of .08 or higher with a minor in the vehicle, not more than 9 months
- License Revocation Minimum of 180 days
- DUI School 12 Hours
Florida Penalties for DUI Second Conviction
- Fines of $1,000 to $2,000. For BAL of .15% or higher, or a minor in the car, minimum $2,000 to $4,000.
- Jail time of not more than 9 months. A BAL of .15% or higher, or driving with a minor in the car, will require up to 12 months*.
- Vehicle impoundment for 30 days. *
- Drivers license suspension/revocation
- Not within 5 years: 180 days to 1 year
- Within 5 years: 5 years
Florida law mandates that any driver convicted of a second DUI have an Ignition Interlock device installed in their vehicle.
Don’t Miss: Is Car Warranty Worth It
Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
Bodily injury liability coverage is generally not required in Florida. However, if you have been convicted of a DUI, BIL is required for a period of three years after your license has been reinstated. If you were convicted after Oct. 1, 2007, you must have $100,000 worth of coverage per person and $300,000 worth of coverage per accident. You also must have a minimum of $50,000 in property damage coverage.
BIL pays for serious and permanent injury or death to others when your car is involved in an accident and the driver of your car is found to be at fault to some extent. This policy pays for injuries caused by you and relatives who live with you, even if they are driving someone elses car. It also covers people who drive your car with your permission. With this type of policy, the insurance company also will pay for your legal defense if you are sued.
Getting The Right Amount Of Auto Insurance
In the state of Florida, drivers are required to carry a minimum amount of car insurance in order to drive legally. The minimum coverage in the state is:
- $10,000 Personal Injury Protection
- $10,000 Property Damage Liability
Its important to note that these are the mandatory minimums, but its usually smart to opt for more insurance than this. How much more you choose to pay for depends on certain factors, such as:
- How new your vehicle is: Older cars typically dont need as much coverage as newer ones.
- Your driving habits: If youll only be driving your car a short distance to school, for example, you probably dont need to worry as much as someone with a long daily commute on dangerous roads.
You May Like: How Much Is Car Registration In Texas
How Can You Save Money On Your Existing Auto Insurance During The Covid
If youre happy with your auto insurance, but youre just not driving much right now, there are a few things you may be able to do in order to save some cash.
Update Your Commute Length
How mileage affects auto insurance can be confusing. Its true that the number of miles you put on your vehicle really can be a significant factor in how much youre charged for auto insurance, but most companies have brackets for mileage rather than counting specifically.
If youve found yourself making playlists for the drive to work, youre probably paying more for your insurance than youd like. Now, things may have changed.
Without a long commute, you may want to call your insurance company and update your information. This can lower your rates, so its worth getting in touch.
Why does commute matter? Well, it comes down to how much risk you are to the insurer. When youre driving more miles every day, youre going to have a higher risk of getting into an accident, which would likely result in the insurer having to pay out a claim.
Lower Your Coverage Limits
Another thing you may be able to lower would be your coverage limits. If you have a high level of coverage, you might want to consider changing it to a lower or medium level.
Granted, this doesnt always save a lot of money, but it varies based on a number of factors. Plus, if you have an older vehicle, it might just make sense anyway, COVID-19 aside.
What Is Extended Pip Coverage
Basic Florida PIP pays up to $10,000. Extended PIP doesnt go higher than the $10,000 limit, but it covers 100% of medical costs and 80% of lost income . Theres still coverage for replacement services and a death benefit. Still, with a limit of only $10,000, you can reach the PIP maximum quickly.
Theres also an extended PIP option that pays 100% of medical bills and excludes any coverage for lost wages. This option also still includes replacement services and a death benefit.
You cannot have a deductible if you choose extended PIP.
Recommended Reading: Will Carvana Buy My Leased Car
Compare Car Insurance Companies
Secured with SHA-256 Encryption
Rachael Brennan has been working in the insurance industry since 2006 when she began working as a licensed insurance representative for 21st Century Insurance, during which time she earned her Property and Casualty license in all 50 states. After several years she expanded her insurance expertise, earning her license in Health and AD& D insurance as well. She has worked for small health insuran…
Written byRachael Brennan Licensed Agent for 15 Years
Chris Harrigan has an economic degree from Limestone College and an MBA from Clemson University. He previously managed auto insurance claims for Enterprise Rent-A-Car. Currently, he is using his business and insurance expertise to provide insurance data analysis and visualizations to enhance the user experience.
Former Auto Insurance Claims Manager
Florida Car Insurance Laws What Drivers Need To Know
The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles requires all drivers in Florida to have auto insurance. However, some of the Sunshine State’s car insurance requirements differ from elsewhere in the U.S. Here’s a breakdown of the minimum coverage you need to stay on the right side of Florida law.
Also Check: Will Carvana Buy My Leased Car
Why You Can Trust Bankrate
Founded in 1976, Bankrate has a long track record of helping people make smart financial choices. Weve maintained this reputation for over four decades by demystifying the financial decision-making process and giving people confidence in which actions to take next.
Bankrate follows a strict editorial policy, so you can trust that were putting your interests first. All of our content is authored by highly qualified professionals and reviewed by subject matter experts, who ensure everything we publish is objective, accurate and worthy of your trust.
Our insurance team is composed of agents, data analysts, and customers like you. They focus on the points consumers care about most price, customer service, policy features and savings opportunities so you can feel confident about which provider is right for you.
- We guide you throughout your search and help you understand your coverage options.
- We provide up-to-date, reliable market information to help you make confident decisions.
- We reduce industry jargon so you get the clearest form of information possible.
All providers discussed on our site are vetted based on the value they provide. And we constantly review our criteria to ensure were putting accuracy first.
Best Minimum Coverage: Esurance
Safe driving app not available in Florida
Deposit required for monthly payment plans
Floridas state minimum insurance requirements are fairly lenient compared to the rest of the country, requiring just $10,000 in property damage liability and $10,000 in personal injury protection. While this isnt enough coverage for the average driver, it will get you on the road legally if youre working with a tight budget. Esurance provides affordable basic coverage starting around $43 per month according to a sample quote we received.
Esurance is a technology-based insurance company that sells auto policies online and through its mobile app. Getting a quote and managing your policy is fast and convenient, and more than two-thirds of claims are processed in less than a day. Youll even find special types of coverage not offered everywhere, such as rideshare insurance for Uber and Lyft drivers.
Although Esurances rates tend to fall significantly lower than competitors, theres a caveat. If you want to pay your insurance bill monthly, youll need to make a down payment that typically falls between 20% and 33% of your six-month premium. The only way to avoid this is by paying for the entire six-month policy period upfront.
You May Like: How Do Car Salesman Get Paid
How To Get Yourself Cheap Car Insurance In Florida
Apart from choosing a provider with affordable rates, there are other ways to find cheap car insurance in Florida. Here are a few suggestions:
- Ask for discounts: Most insurance companies offer discounts that can help drivers save money on their premiums. Every provider has various deals, but some common ones have safety features in your car, take a defensive driving course, be a safe driver, and pay your premium in full.
- Raise your deductible: By raising your deductible, you agree to pay more out-of-pocket money for a claim. However, higher deductibility means paying less for your monthly premium.
- Improve your credit score: Your credit score is one of the factors that influence your credit rating. Drivers with poor credit scores are considered high risk and pay a higher rate because of this. If you can boost your credit score, you’ll be rewarded with a lower premium.
- Shop around: Another option is to shop around for another provider who can offer you a cheaper rate. Often, insurance companies will even give you a discount on simply switching providers and signing a new policy before your old one comes to an end.
Frequently Asked Questions
What Can You Do With Your Insurance If Your Vehicle Is Filed As A Planned Non
One option available to you when youre sure you wont be driving your vehicle is to cancel your insurance. When you cancel your insurance, youll be entitled to a refund of your paid premiums and you wont have to manage a policy while youre not driving.
Canceling your insurance could seem like the best option, but some vehicle owners with parked automobiles are choosing a better alternative to suspend auto insurance coverage temporarily while the vehicle is parked.
This suspension means that the policy is put on hold until you call the agent to reactivate it. Youll have the same policy number when you need your coverage back.
Also Check: How Much Does A Car Salesman Make Per Car
The Cheapest Companies For Minimum Coverage In Florida
Geico and State Farm offer the cheapest average minimum coverage premiums in Florida, according to our analysis. Minimum coverage car insurance tends to be cheaper than full coverage due to its lower levels of financial protection. Many insurance professionals recommend that you purchase higher limits if you can afford to, as minimum coverage offers very little protection.
These are some of the cheapest companies for state minimum limits in Florida:
|Car insurance company|
Minimum Florida Car Insurance Requirements
When buying car insurance in Florida, you’ll need at least the following amounts of coverage:
Personal injury protection
|$10,000 per accident|
Property damage liability pays to repair the property of others if you’re at fault in an accident. For example, if you lose control of your car and rear-end another driver, property damage liability coverage would pay for repairs to the other vehicle.
You’re required to carry at least $10,000 of liability coverage, though we recommend buying more. Adding additional liability coverage is not expensive and can save you from having to pay thousands of dollars out of pocket if you’re responsible for a car crash. Note that this coverage does not pay for damage to your own car or personal property.
Personal injury protection pays for your medical expenses, regardless of fault. In Florida, PIP only covers 80% of the cost of care. If you’re injured in a crash, you’ll have to pay for the remaining 20% with either your health insurance or your own money.
You can purchase $10,000 of PIP coverage per accident, but you won’t be able to increase your limits. This coverage also includes a $5,000 death benefit and a disability benefit that reimburses the policyholder for 60% of lost income if they’re unable to work due to injuries.
Each part of the PIP limit counts toward the combined $10,000 maximum that your insurer will pay out per accident. These benefits extend to people in your household, unless they have their own insurance policy.
Read Also: Car Detailing Duties
Florida Car Insurance Quotes Coverage & Requirements
Florida Car Insurance. Florida law requires residents of FL to have car insurance. You must purchase the minimum coverage amounts for both personal injury protection insurance and property damage liability car insurance. Luckily, Florida offsets this coverage requirement by offering some of the lowest car insurance coverage minimums in the country.
Driving Without Car Insurance
If you are caught driving without car insurance in Florida, you certainly arent alone. State officials estimate 1 in 4 drivers in the Sunshine State dont have auto insurance as required by law.
Driving without insurance is illegal in Florida, and its a serious problem that could result in the suspension or revocation of your drivers license.
At The Ansara Law Firm, our Fort Lauderdale traffic ticket attorneys will fight to protect your right to legally operate a vehicle in Florida if you are cited for driving without insurance. Depending on the facts of your case, you could be facing hefty fines and a loss of your license for months or even years on end. Its important that you take action as soon as you receive notice that you have been caught driving without insurance.
Although some traffic crimes are frequently prosecuted as criminal offenses in Florida, driving without car insurance isnt one of them. However, it can quickly spiral into a criminal charge if your license is suspended and you continue to drive.
If you can sidestep this outcome early on, you can likely avoid bigger headaches later.
Florida Auto Insurance Requirements
Auto insurance is mandatory for those who are driving a vehicle or registering any vehicle with four wheels.
As noted by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor vehicles , the law requires drivers to at all times maintain a minimum of:
- $10,000 in personal injury protection coverage
- $10,000 in property damage liability.
Recommended Reading: How To Keep Squirrels From Eating Car Wires