New Hampshire Car Insurance Premiums
Vehicle insurance premiums are regulated by the New Hampshire Division of Insurance. Insurance companies are allowed to charge premiums and award discounts based on a number of factors that can include:
- The type of car you are insuring
- Prior auto insurance coverage
- How long youve been driving
- Whether or not you use your car for business
New Hampshire also allows insurers to consider your credit rating to determine your premium.
Penalties For Driving Without Auto Insurance
Since New Hampshire doesnt have a mandatory insurance law, you wont be penalized for driving without car insurance, unless the New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles requires that you carry SR-22 insurance. Under an SR-22, your insurance company provides a form to the state that says you have auto insurance.
If you are placed under such a requirement and get caught driving without insurance, your license and registration will be revoked until the SR-22 requirement is met.
Alternative Proof Of Financial Responsibility
If you’re required to get car insurance, you have one alternative: Deposit $75,000 in cash or securities with the state treasurer. But an insurance policy is a much more convenient way to prove your financial responsibility.
Editorial Note: The content of this article is based on the authors opinions and recommendations alone. It has not been previewed, commissioned or otherwise endorsed by any of our network partners.
Also Check: How Do I Get My Car Title In Florida
New Hampshire Auto Insurance Information
New Hampshire is one of only two states in the country that does not require drivers to carry auto insurance. However, the state does require that certain financial responsibility requirements are met, and if you get in an accident and are unable to pay for the damages, you could risk losing your license.
The easiest way to protect yourself and others on the road is to purchase auto insurance. If you are purchasing New Hampshire auto insurance, the state does mandate a minimum amount of coverage. Your policy must include both Bodily Injury and Property Damage coverages. The minimum required limits are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for Bodily Injury and $25,000 per accident for Property Damage. You must also include at least $1,000 for Medical Payments coverage and Uninsured Motorist coverage with limits equal to your BI coverage. Most people opt for higher amounts of auto insurance coverage than the state minimums in order to protect themselves in case of an accident.
To learn more about New Hampshire auto insurance, visit the New Hampshire Insurance Department.
Bundle New Hampshire car insurance to save Purchasing a home insurance policy along with car insurance from Liberty Mutual qualifies you for a multi-policy discount. Learn more about our New Hampshire home insurance.
Contact a Liberty Mutual agent in New Hampshire today
What Is The Best Car Insurance Company
The best car insurance company is different for every driver. It depends on factors like where you live, how much you want to spend, what type of coverage you need and what discounts you can qualify for. Before you choose a provider, it is a good idea to research providers and compare them using your personal criteria.
Read Also: Does Walmart Make Copies Of Car Keys
Take Advantage Of Nationwide’s Features
Nationwide makes it easy for you to find dependable auto insurance in New Hampshire. We can show you options so you can choose the coverage that’s right for your needs, goals and budget.
Explore the features below to learn more about what we can offer you:
Make payments, print ID cards, report claims and more, quickly and easily online. We even have a mobile app for on-the-go account access.
What Types Of Alternative Health Insurance Plans Are Available In New Hampshire
The most common kind of cost-sharing plan in New Hampshire is a faith-based plan. Members of these plans share health care costs. You dont need to be a member of a particular denomination, or belong to any religious group, if you want to participate in a plan. These plans arent insurance and arent required to conform to ACA standards. Plans can be inexpensive but often dont cover pre-existing conditions or other essential health care benefits.
You May Like: Cheap Full Coverage Auto Insurance Florida
The Cheapest Car Insurance In New Hampshire For 2021
MoneyGeek collected rates from insurance companies in New Hampshire to find the cheapest car insurance policy. For an average driver, Amica Mutual offers the lowest auto insurance rate in New Hampshire, and you can save up to $803 by comparing rates.
While Amica Mutual is the most affordable car insurance company in New Hampshire for a sample driver, factors like age, driving history, coverage amount and credit score significantly affect your car insurance rate.
For seniors and drivers with bad credit scores, Concord Group is the best car insurance provider in New Hampshire. If you have a military background, a policy from USAA may provide the lowest auto insurance cost.
New Hampshire Car Insurance Laws
Under normal circumstances, state car insurance laws donât require you to carry any car insurance to be legal to drive. While this may sound like a dream come true, itâs not all itâs cracked up to be. Whether or not you maintain an insurance policy, any damages you may cause in an at-fault accident are still your financial responsibility.
If you do cause a car accident without an active insurance policy and the damages exceed $1,000, you will be required to file an SR-22, and carry the following insurance policies with the stated minimum limits:
You May Like: How To Program A Car Computer With A Laptop
How Lengthy Does A New Hampshire Dashing Ticket Keep On My Document
You may see your dashing ticket in your driving document for the remainder of your life, nevertheless it possible receivedt have an effect on your premiums after a sure time period. Though laws differ by firm, most insurance coverage suppliers cost for tickets for 3 to 5 years. After that time, you may see your charges return down in case youve been capable of preserve a clear driving document.
How Much Is A Speeding Ticket In New Hampshire
The cost of a speeding ticket in New Hampshire depends on how fast over the speed limit you were going as well as the type of speed zone in which the violation occurred. Fines begin at $62 per violation and increase up to $496. The amount increases in construction zones, too and may be dependent on other circumstances.
New Hampshire also declares that speeding more than 100 mph constitutes reckless driving, regardless of the speed limit. The first offense comes with a potential $500 penalty, and a second offense could result in a $750 penalty. You may have to appear in court and pay court and administrative fees. Your license could also be suspended for up to 60 days with a reckless driving conviction.
Also Check: How Long Do Car Batteries Last
New Hampshire Insurance Requirements:
New Hampshire is one of the few states in the country that does not explicitly require vehicle owners to obtain auto insurance when a vehicle is registered. However, not having insurance could be financially devastating due to the fact that just because you are not required to have insurance, does not mean you would not be required to pay should your company be held legally responsible for an at-fault accident.
Do Business Owners Who Drive Personal Vehicles For Work Need Business Auto Insurance
Many business owners use their vehicles both commercially and personally, so what type of policy should you have? This answer will depend on several factors that should be discussed with an insurance professional. These factors can include:
- How is the vehicle titled and registered?
- Who drives the vehicle?
- How is the vehicle used?
- What type of vehicle?
- Do you have liability limit requirements outlined in a contract?
Determining the usage is critical because many personal auto insurance policies will exclude any type of business activity. There are also limits on the amount of liability coverage offered as well as vehicle weight limits on a NH personal auto policy. Every policy has its own terms and conditions that must be considered in light of a business owners specific situation, though, and an experienced insurance agent can help with the process of determining what coverage solution is most appropriate.
Recommended Reading: How To Get Internet In A Car
Vehicle Insurance In The United States
Vehicle insurance, car insurance, or auto insurance in the United States and elsewhere, is designed to cover the risk of financial liability or the loss of a motor vehicle that the owner may face if their vehicle is involved in a collision that results in property or physical damage. Most states require a motor vehicle owner to carry some minimum level of liability insurance. States that do not require the vehicle owner to carry car insurance include Virginia, where an uninsured motor vehicle fee may be paid to the state, New Hampshire, and Mississippi, which offers vehicle owners the option to post cash bonds . The privileges and immunities clause of Article IV of the U.S. Constitution protects the rights of citizens in each respective state when traveling to another. A motor vehicle owner typically pays insurers a monthly fee, often called an insurance premium. The insurance premium a motor vehicle owner pays is usually determined by a variety of factors including the type of covered vehicle, marital status, credit score, whether the driver rents or owns a home, the age and gender of any covered drivers, their driving history, and the location where the vehicle is primarily driven and stored. Most insurance companies will increase insurance premium rates based on these factors, and less frequently, offer discounts.
New Hampshire Car Insurance Overview
New Hampshire is one of the only states in which car insurance is not mandatory. However, it does have a Motor Vehicle Responsibility Law, which means the driver responsible for the accident is also responsible for compensating others involved in the crash for their medical bills and other accident-related expenses, along with damage to other vehicles. This is similar to the fault system used in other states. If a driver decides to forego New Hampshire car insurance, their personal assets are vulnerable in a lawsuit. The financial consequences of driving without insurance could prove dire. The New Hampshire Division of Motor Vehicles strongly recommends and urges all owners of motor vehicles to carry standard liability and property damage insurance.
The New Hampshire statute of limitations for filing a personal injury lawsuit resulting from a car accident is three years from the date of the accident. Failure to file a lawsuit by that deadline means the claim cannot go forward in court. If a person dies from their accident-related injuries, family members can file a wrongful death lawsuit within three years of the death date.
Recommended Reading: Removing Hail Damage
What Kind Of Low
New Hampshire expanded its Medicare coverage to low-income adults in 2014 and in 2019, began the Granite Advantage Health Care Program. The state no longer buys individual plans on the Health Insurance Marketplace for adults included in the Medicaid expansion. Instead, theyre enrolled in the Granite Advantage Health Care Program.
In January 2021, there were 309,951 individuals enrolled in Medicaid and CHIP in the state. This is a net increase of 143.9% since the Open Enrollment period in October 2013.
What Other Coverages Should New Hampshire Residents Buy
As we mentioned earlier, if you have car insurance in New Hampshire, you must buy $1,000 of MedPay or medical payments coverage. It will pay for the bodily injuries or burial expenses of those involved, no matter whos at fault.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage will pay if you are in an accident that youre not responsible for, and if the other driver lacks insurance or doesnt have enough to cover your expenses. Generally, these limits match your chosen liability limits. You can also get them stacked or unstacked. If stacked, you pay more. But you also get coverage from both in the event of a claim. So you double your coverage.
The below table goes over loss ratios for the above coverages.
A Loss ratio compares how much an insurance company pays for a claim to the amount of money it earns on premiums. For example, with a loss ratio of 60 percent, the company paid $60 for every $100 it earned in premiums.
A ratio of over 100 percent shows that the company isnt earning enough to cover the cost it pays for claims and will probably have to raise rates. On the other hand, if the number is too low, the company probably overpriced its policies or didnt get as many claims as it anticipated.
You May Like: Remove Scratches From Car
Driving In New Hampshire
Anywhere you drive, youre open to some risks, some of which you cant control. You never know what will happen. Its also harder to drive in harsh conditions.
The best you can do is to drive as safely as possible. To help you stay on top of the dangers, below, well go over more hazards of driving and vehicle ownership: vehicle theft and fatal crashes.
So, buckle up and get ready for some eye-opening statistics from the National Traffic Highway Safety Administration and other organizations.
How To Save On Car Insurance In New Hampshire
Drivers who are looking for the cheapest car insurance in New Hampshire should shop around and compare quotes from multiple providers. Additionally, there are some other ways that drivers can save money and get a lower rate. Here are some suggestions for getting cheap car insurance in New Hampshire:
- Look for discounts: Most car insurance companies offer discounts that can help drivers get a lower premium. Typical discounts include savings for being a good student, being claim-free and having certain safety equipment in your vehicle.
- Improve your credit score: Drivers with poor credit pay the highest car insurance rates, and vice versa. Raising your credit score can help you get a lower premium.
- Raise your deductible: Raising your deductible means paying a lower monthly rate. Just make sure you can afford to pay a higher deductible out of pocket in the event of a claim.
- Pay your premium in full: Drivers who can afford to pay their annual insurance premium upfront and in full, rather than in monthly installments, often qualify for a lower rate.
Recommended Reading: Brian Choi Avis
New Hampshire Driver Statistics
Approximately 1.3 million people call The Granite State home, and roughly 1.1 million of them hold drivers licenses. The fifth-smallest state, New Hampshire ranks 40th in population. It received its nickname of The Granite State from the many granite formations within its borders. One of the original 13 colonies, this quintessential New England state was the ninth to ratify the Constitution. New Hampshire has no sales or personal income tax. Its average household income is among the highest in the nation.
In the past, New Hampshire was best known for textile manufacturing as well as grain and paper mills. These are no longer major economic drivers, but current prominent industries in New Hampshire include smart manufacturing and high technology, health care, and tourism.
Top tourist attractions in New Hampshire include the Portsmouth Harbor Trail, a must for lovers of Colonial and Early American architecture the Currier Museum of Art and Zimmerman House in Manchester the Covered Bridge Driving Tour, and Mount Monadnock, famous as the worlds most climbed mountain. The state boasts many ski resorts, and in fall thousands of people drive through the state to view the changing foliage.
Is It Against The Law To Not Have Car Insurance
No matter where you live, you must follow the procedures to either purchase or in states where car insurance is not mandatory waive your responsibility for car insurance. Not doing so comes with serious consequences. Unfortunately, many states still have large populations without car insurance, despite the laws.
What are the penalties for not following car insurance laws? As with the requirements, these vary by state. Common penalties include:
- Suspension of your license or registration
- Jail time
- Court fees and reinstatement fees
Uninsured and underinsured motorist coverage may be a good bet if you live in a state with a large population of uninsured drivers. As we mentioned earlier, this will keep you safe if you live in an at-fault state and are in a car accident with someone who did not purchase the right amount of coverage.
Also Check: Cancel Geico Policy
Car Insurance Discounts In New Hampshire
Many of the cheapest car insurance companies in New Hampshire also offer discounts to help you save on your New Hampshire car insurance policy.
There are different types of car insurance discounts depending on your situation:
- Driving record discount: If you have a safe driving record, you might save on your car insurance premium. Many insurance companies look for drivers with no moving violations or accidents for five years.
- Bundle discount: If you bundle multiple policies, some companies will reward you for your loyalty with a bundling discount. This can include many types of insurance, including your homeowners, renters, life or business insurance.
- Good student discount: You might also receive a discount if you earn good grades in school.
- Membership discounts: You could also save if you are a member of certain organizations or have a military affiliation.
- Many insurance companies will reward you with lower premiums when you have good or better credit.
Each of the New Hampshire car insurance companies on our list offers significant discounts for good students and bundling. However, the best discounts for you will vary based on individual characteristics, so it may be most helpful to speak with an insurance agent about which deals apply to you.