Requirements For Vehicle Registration In Colorado
No matter how you register vehicle, youll have to provide:
- A vehicle title signed over to you.
- Proof of insurance. This may be your:
- Insurance card.
- Printed insurance policy or screen shot on your phone.
- Printed document from your insurance company.
- Letter from your insurance company on the official letterhead.
- Email from the insurance company.
You must register your vehicle within:
- 60 days of purchase.
- 90 days of establishing Colorado residency.
How Do I Register My New Car In Colorado
Congratulations! You just bought a car. Now you are probably asking yourself How do I register my new car in Colorado?
You are currently driving around with a temporary tag and it wont be long until you need to get some official plates on that sweet new ride. Here at Prestige Imports we begin the registration process by checking all of the documents associated with the purchase. Once all of the documents have been verified for accuracy, the paperwork and title are completed.
If the purchase was paid for via bank wire or certified bank check, the completed documents are sent to you via certified mail. If you paid via cashiers check or personal check, the completed documents are filed according to the date of sale. Generally, within ten business days after the date of sale, these documents are sent to you via certified mail. Note, if city and/or county taxes were collected during the purchase transaction, for cities other than Lakewood or counties other than Jefferson, a separate check, payable to the appropriate entities, is attached to the title documents.
Once these documents are received you must bring all the documents to your local Department of Motor Vehicles office , including any tax checks that are attached.
For your reference, we have provided a list of links to local DMV offices from counties throughout the state of Colorado
Purchasing From A Private Party
Secure and verifiable identification is required on all new titles, duplicate titles, new registrations, new temporary registration permits, and new persons with disability placards. If the name of the buyer on the secure and verifiable identification and the new title application do not match, the Statement of One in the same DR2421 must be submitted. The vehicle will be titled as assigned on the ownership document. The identification must be provided by the owner of record or a power of attorney presented by the agent. The agent must have Secure and Verifiable Identification to complete the transaction. Commercially owned or lienholder transactions require a letter of authorization.
Read Also: What Do Auto Detailers Do
Registering Vehicles Purchased From Private Seller
If you purchased your vehicle from a private party and wish to register it, you need to provide the following:
- VIN verification
- Identification, such as drivers license, passport, military ID
- Proof of passing an emissions test, if applicable
- Proof of auto insurance
- Registration fees
If you are a military member stationed in Colorado, you may keep your vehicles registration in your home state, or register your vehicle in Colorado. If you do register your vehicle, you need to comply with emission laws and requirements, but you do not have to pay the Specific Ownership Tax. To meet the standards for this waiver, you must bring the following to the DMV:
- Copy of your orders
- Current Leave and Earnings Statement
- Non-residence and Military Service Exemption from Specific Ownership Tax Affidavit
There are fees associated with registering a vehicle in Colorado. Sales and ownership taxes are added on as well. All of the fees vary by county. The three types of fees are:
Ownership tax: Personal property tax based on the value of your vehicle when it was brand new
Sales tax: Based on your cars net purchase price
License fee: Based on the weight of your vehicle, purchase date, and the taxable value
Instances Where You Must Change Your Address On Your Colorado Car Registration
The transaction to change a car registration address in Colorado must be completed when the vehicle owner relocates to another physical address and/or updates his or her mailing address. However, you may be required to request an address change on your car registration under different circumstances as well. For instance, changing a car registration address in CO is a process that must also be completed if you were erroneously issued a registration card with an incorrect address.
In addition, your county title and registration office technically completes the address change procedure when you apply for your first Colorado car registration after an out-of-state move.
You May Like: How Do You Get Satellite Radio In Your Car
How To Renew Your Car Registration In Colorado
In order for residents of Colorado to drive their cars legally on the roadways, they will need to be registered with the DMV. Every year, this registration will have to be renewed in order for the car to remain legal to drive. There are a number of ways that you can renew your registration in Colorado. Usually, the first notice that you will have when this registration renewal is due is the reminder that the DMV will send out. Here is what will be on the renewal notice sent out by the Colorado DMV.
- The fees that you have to pay to renew the registration
- The mailing address of the local county clerk
- The insurance requirements to renew the registration
- The emissions requirements to renew the registration
How Do I Register An Out Of State Vehicle In Colorado
Registration Requirements If the vehicle was titled in another state a VIN verification must be completed. Title assigned in owners name or current out of state registration . Secure and Verifiable Identification Information. Proof of Colorado Vehicle Emissions Proof Of Insurance: Acceptable types of insurance polices.
Don’t Miss: How To Get Rid Of Spiders In Car Mirror
Registering A Used Car In Colorado
In order to successfully register your vehicle in Colorado after purchasing it from a private party, you will have to submit the necessary items in person through a nearby motor vehicle licensing site. If you are wondering what you need to register a car, check the following list:
- A filled out Application for Title and/or Registration form
- The corresponding ownership document, such as a reassigned vehicle title or an out-of-state title and/or registration card
- An official state-issued identification document, such as a valid driving license
- Proof of vehicle insurance of an acceptable type of coverage
- Evidence of a passed emissions inspection
- A signed Verification of Vehicle Identification Number form
- An Affidavit of Non-Use of Vehicle form, if you are not planning on operating your vehicle for a longer time period
- Payment for the taxes, as well as the titling and registration fees
Your DMV agent will process your CO vehicle registration application once he or she verifies that your request is authentic and complete. Then, you will receive your registration documents in the mail. Your new title will be mailed to your recorded address within four to six weeks. Note that you will be required to complete the vehicle registration renewal process on a yearly basis.
Secure And Verifiable Identification Notice
If you are coming into the office to title or register a vehicle for the first time, and you are the owner of the vehicle, your Secure and Verifiable Identification will be required.
If someone other than the owner of the vehicle will be transacting on the owners behalf, to obtain a new title or new registration, the owner must designate an agent by notarized power of attorney, and the agent will be required to provide secure and verifiable identification.
Florida Car Registration Requirements
In Florida, you have 10 days to register your out-of-state car after you’ve moved there. To be considered a resident of Florida, you must be employed in the state, have your child enrolled in public schools, or have established a living address. To learn more about registering a car in Florida, read our blog post: How to register a car in Florida.
Vehicle Registration For Military Members
If you are serving in the military and have been stationed in Colorado, you have two options for registering a car in Colorado. If you are only going to be here for a short period of time, you can leave your vehicle registered with your home state. If you decide to register your vehicle, simply bring a copy of your military ID, along with your current military stationing orders. You will also need to bring a copy of your current leave and earnings statement, and your VIN verification form. If you are stationed in and live in Colorado, simply follow the standard vehicle registration process.
Also Check: Auto Title Transfer Florida
How To Register A Kit Or Replicar In The State Of Colorado
Also this excerpt from Rich Pauls website might prove useful: How you go about titling your car will depend on what type of car you build. By this we mean that there are three types of Kit Cars built. One ,a Kit Car using a donor car for the platform. Two. A Kit Car constructed using a Custom frame built by the manufacturer or someone authorized by the manufacturer.
Colorado Address Change Time Limits For Updating Your Car Registration
The process of changing your vehicle registration address in Colorado must be finalized within a designated time period according to current state law. If you fail to change your vehicle registration address within the designated time limit, you may face certain consequences.
For example, failure to complete the CO address change on car registration may lead to a traffic ticket for driving with an incorrect credential. Also, you may not receive your car registration renewal notice and other important DMV correspondences if you do not inform the department of your new address.
Completing And Submitting The Application Form
How To Register A Car Or Truck In Colorado
You must register your vehicle within 60 daysof ownership. Out-of-state drivers have up to 90 days from their residency to get their vehicle registered.
You will need a smog inspection before registering the vehicle and vary by county. Mandatory smog checks are done in: Boulder, Broomfield, Denver, Douglas, and Jefferson. Youll also need an emissions test in: Adams, Arapahoe, Larimer, and Weld.
Car insurance is a requirement when registering a vehicle if you plan to drive.;Gather your Colorado drivers license or proof of ID, and complete the following for any vehicle bought through private sales:
Congratulations! Youve completed the steps to register a vehicle in the state of Colorado. Your registration is valid for 1-year. Practice safe driving, respect road rules, and your time on the road will be fun and exciting!
Recommended Reading: How Much Does A Car Salesman Make Per Car
How To Register A Vehicle In Colorado
Getting a vehicle registration in Colorado is a straightforward procedure that can be completed through the Division of Motor Vehicles , which is overseen by the states Department of Revenue . Vehicle owners can apply for a new car registration through the motor vehicle office in their residential county. Overall, applicants will be required to submit several types of documents and pay the applicable licensing fees in person, since the DMV does not currently offer other application methods.
In order to finalize the process of registering a car in CO, vehicle owners will be required to follow several steps, which may vary depending on their circumstances and the type and model year of their vehicles. Furthermore, new state residents will have to fulfill additional prerequisites before applying for a vehicle registration. Continue reading the following sections to learn more about the Colorado car registration procedures and requirements.
Vehicle Inspection/smog Inspection/vin Inspection Requirements In Colorado
When registering your vehicle in Colorado, you may be required to submit it to certain types of inspections. For example, if you need to apply for a car registration for an out-of-state motor vehicle, your vehicle will first have to pass a VIN inspection conducted by a law enforcement official, emissions station or a vehicle dealer. In such cases, your vehicle will be physically inspected to check whether or not it displays a valid VIN and whether or not it meets the state safety standards.
Prior to issuing a new vehicle registration in CO, the state DMV may also require you to submit your car to an emissions inspection. Note that these requirements may vary depending on the type and age of the vehicle you are registering, as well as your county of residence. For instance, gasoline and diesel-powered vehicles older than seven model years will most likely require an emissions inspection on a biennial basis.
Don’t Miss: Florida Title Copy
Colorado Relocation Guide & Moving Guide
Register Your Vehicle in Colorado. If you’re new to Colorado and are bringing your out-of-state vehicle with you, you must register it within 90 days of establishing residency. Don’t wait until the last minute; find out how to do it now on our Car Registration in Colorado page.. Special Vehicles
How To Change Your Address On Your Colorado Car Registration Online
Changing your car registration address online in Colorado is the best way to provide your new address information to your county title and registration office. However, the availability of the option to update an auto registration address online varies depending on whether or not your county offers this specific service.
If you live in a county that processes CO address update on vehicle registration requests via the internet, you will generally be required to complete the following steps:
- Access the change of address service through your county website.
- Input your personal information, such as full name, email address and phone number.
- Enter your new physical and/or mailing address and your previous address.
- Provide your vehicle information, such as vehicle type, make, year and identification number.
- Enter your license plate type and number.
Note: County motor vehicle offices allow you to change your car registration address on up to three vehicles with the same online request.
After applying for an online address change on car registration in CO, your county will update your vehicle records within several days. Depending on your county of residence, you may or may not receive a new registration card displaying your new address. For example, if you update your auto registration address in Broomfield, Colorado, you will be sent a new registration card.
Also Check: What Does A Car Thermostat Do
How To Change Your Address On Your Colorado Car Registration By Phone
Finalizing the Colorado address update on vehicle registration process by phone is another convenient method of updating your vehicle records. However, the option to complete the procedure by phone is only available in a limited number of counties.
For example, if you are unable to update your vehicle registration address in Boulder County via the internet, you can call your local government representative and provide the necessary information by phone. To finalize the change by phone, you will be asked to provide several types of information, such as your name, license plate number and new and old address.
Wyoming Car Registration Requirements
Any vehicle owned by a non-resident that is properly registered in another state is not required to be registered in Wyoming. Non-residents vacationing in Wyoming may drive with their out-of-state plates for a maximum of 120 days. If you have moved to Wyoming, you have up to 30 days after your arrival to register your vehicle.
Although registering a car in a different state than you currently live in varies from state to state, regardless of what state you live in, registering your vehicle is a must.
In most states, you’re required to have proof of valid car insurance coverage in your state to register your car. Car insurance rates vary by state and by many factors specific to you and your car. They can also vary based on the company you choose.
If you are thinking about registering your vehicle in another state, make sure you know their requirements. It also might be beneficial to look into the insurance coverage each state requires. Use our free tool to compare insurance quotes in your area or the area you want to register in. It’s simple, just enter your ZIP code! Find the best and cheapest car insurance.
Recommended Reading: How To Add Bluetooth To Car