Verified Accurate As Of Jan 16 2019
Bought a new or used car? Or, gifting one? If so, youll complete an Arizona title transfer.
A title transfer is required in Arizona to prove vehicle ownership. The transfer is required if you sold, donated, or gifted your car, too. You will complete the title transfer at an Arizona Motor Vehicle Division title office or via dealership .
The title transfer process is easy in the state of Arizona. Youll learn how its done in the following, a few steps including the information youll need to present and the paying fees youll pay.
How To Register A Car In Arizona Without A Title
If you dont have the proper documentation needed to register, dont fret. You can apply for a 90-day registration which allows you to drive your vehicle while you are obtaining the required documentation for registration. The fee for a 90-day registration is $15 and once you have all required paperwork, the vehicle license taxes for the full year will be calculated back to the date the 90-day registration was issued.;
Transferring A Title And Registration
Arizona state law requires that you must put the vehicle in your name within 15 days of the purchase date. A penalty fee will;apply after the 15 days.
To transfer a title and registration in Arizona you must have the following items:
- A signed and notarized vehicle title
- A lien release, if applicable
- All applicable title and registration fees
- Any other documents that apply
If there is a lien on the vehicle that has not been paid off, written permission from the lienholder/lender will be required to add or delete a name.
;Visit our Arizona registrationpage for more information.;If you have an out of state title, please see our;out of state title transfer page.
Also Check: What Kind Of Speakers Are In My Car
Vehicles Purchased Or Received As A Gift From Another Person
If you buy a vehicle, a boat, an ATV, or a snowmobile from another person who is not a DMV-licensed automobile dealer or receive it as a gift, make sure that you receive acceptable proof of ownership.;
Proof of ownership normally includes a bill of sale. The DMV does not provide a form for a bill of sale. The seller and the buyer complete the bill of sale. If the vehicle is transferred as a gift, indicate this on the bill of sale and indicate that the purchase price is $0. You must also complete a;Statement of Transaction- Sale or Gift of Motor Vehicle, Trailer, All-Terrain Vehicle , Vessel , or Snowmobile ; ;and indicate on the form;that the vehicle is a gift.
An acceptable bill of sale includes all of this information
- the year and make of the vehicle, boat or ATV
- the vehicle identification number or the hull identification number
- the date of the sale
- the purchase price of the vehicle or the boat
- the names and signatures of the buyer and the seller
The buyer and seller can make photocopies of the bill of sale to keep for their records. The new owner must go to the DMV with the acceptable proof of ownership and a bill of sale. A bill of sale alone is not acceptable as proof of ownership without a title or transferable registration
Vehicles Purchased From Dealers
A DMV-licensed automobile dealer must have acceptable proof of ownership for a vehicle before they can sell that vehicle to you. Most NY State automobile dealers send the application for a vehicle registration and title certificate to the DMV. The dealer can charge a fee of $175 for this service.
The proof of ownership for a new vehicle is either
- the Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin
- the Manufacturer’s Statement of Origin and form MV-50
The proof of ownership for a used vehicle is both
- the title certificate that the previous owner signed to transfer the ownership to the dealer
- ‘Retail Certificate of Sale’ that the dealer signs to transfer ownership to you
If you cannot get acceptable proof of ownership from a NY State dealer, learn how to file a complaint.
Read Also: What To Wash Car With
S For Performing A Transfer Of Title In Arizona
If you are wondering how to transfer a title on a car in Arizona, note that you will be required to submit the necessary items through a nearby MVD office or a third party provider location. The division does not currently allow vehicle owners to complete the transfer process online.
To finalize the AZ auto title transfer, you will be required to submit the documents outlined above along with the applicable fee payments within 15 days of the transfer of ownership. Failure to initiate the AZ car title transfer within this time period may lead to certain penalty fees.
Note that, when completing the title transfer for cars with the 96-0236 form, you will also successfully complete the vehicle registration procedure in a single transaction. After the state MVD processes your request for a transfer of your car title in AZ, you will be issued your new vehicle documents showing you as the new owner.
Note: Keep in mind that electronic title transfers are not an option in Arizona. These must be completed in person.
How To Perform An Out
An out of state car title transfer in Arizona is mandatory as soon as you move from another state to Arizona. Motorists who are wondering how to transfer a car title from state to state need to know that the procedure must be completed through the Arizona Department of Transportation .
To successfully transfer an out of state car title, vehicle owners may be required to satisfy certain requirements and prepare a list of mandatory documents. To discover more information about transferring an out of state car title, continue reading the sections below.
Also Check: Where Can You Get Your Car Inspected
Change Or Correct A Name On A Title
Your true full name must appear on your vehicle or vessel California Certificate of Title and registration card. If your name is misspelled, changes , or is legally changed, you need to correct your name on your title.
To change or correct your name, submit:
- California Certificate of Title with your correct name printed or typed in the New Registered Owner section
- A completed Name Statement in Section F of the Statement of Facts .
You may submit your application to any DMV office or by mail to:
Department of Motor Vehicles
If the vehicle has a legal owner/lienholder, then section 5 of the REG 227 needs to be notarized. If the registration does not show a legal owner/lienholder, notarization is not required.
Need help finding the lienholder on your vehicle title? We keep a listing of banks, credit unions, and financial/lending institutions that may have gone out of business, merged, changed their name, or been acquired by another financial institution.
How To Transfer Car Ownership
Once you have the car sold, it doesnt take much to transfer car ownershipthat is, as long as all the paperwork is in order. The auto title transfer can be done in just minutes at the DMV. The hard part is waiting in line until you can see one of the DMV agents at the window!
Theyll check your paperwork over the car title, bill of sale, and any supporting documentation. The agent will take your payment and run a title check to verify everything. Once its done, youll be issued a new title with your name on it.
You May Like: How Do I Get My Car Title In Florida
Forget About Bureaucracy With Donotpay
Theres no end to what our app can help you do. From drafting legal documents and asking for bill extensions and reducing property taxes to connecting with an inmate in a federal prison and contesting parking citations, DoNotPay can handle it all and cut through the red tape.
Need to pass a government test? Use our practice tests database to nail it. Looking to file an insurance claim? Youve come to the right place. College applications drained your accounts? Request college fee waivers with our assistance.
The DoNotPay app is so versatile that it can easily locate any unclaimed funds under your name or any clinical trials that youre eligible to participate in. We can also schedule DMV appointments and take care of your small claims court documents.
When Is An Out
An out of state car title transfer is necessary when a motorist moves to Arizona from a different state, or if a driver purchases a vehicle from out of state. Motorists need to perform a title transfer by surrendering their out-of-state title and registration and applying for new ones at the AZ DOT.
Don’t Miss: How To Change The Interior Of Your Car
How To Get An Auto Title When A Person Has Died In Arizona
The Arizona Motor Vehicle Division will transfer a vehicle title into your name, even if the original owner did not transfer or sign over the title before his death. The MVD will only transfer a vehicle title if at least 30 days has expired past the owner’s death, the vehicle’s value doesn’t exceed $50,000, and if you have the right to inherit the vehicle by will or intestate succession, which implies that you are the spouse or child of the deceased. If the vehicle exceeds $50,000 in value, there is no will, you aren’t the rightful heir or there is a dispute, action in probate court is required.
Obtain a certified death certificate. A certified death certificate can be ordered from a local Arizona vital records office. The applicant must be 18 and be able to provide proof of relationship. Proof of relationship would include a birth or marriage certificate that shows your relationship to the deceased. Only spouses, immediate family members and legal representatives may order a certified birth certificate. The cost of a certified death certificate is $10, as of 2010.
Have your signature on the non-probate affidavit form notarized. You must sign the form in front of a certified notary or MVD agent. When you sign this document, you are also swearing that the vehicle’s value does not exceed $50,000, the owner died more than 30 days prior to completing this form and you are rightfully entitled to the decedent’s property.
Car Buying And Selling: The Az Title Transfer Process
Are you buying a vehicle from a private party? Selling your vehicle? You will include the title transfer when doing so to pass ownership of the vehicle.
The AZ DMV needs you to take these steps
Completing this process will award you with the title of the vehicle. You should register the vehicle as soon as you can after the title transfer to begin driving it on state roads.
If youre the seller:
You should consider notarizing the title when passing it to the other party. You will remove your license plates and consider turning it in for a plate credit/refund. You should also complete a sold notice within 10 days by marking it on the registration or on the AZ MVD site.
Read Also: What Do You Need To Get Your Car Inspected
How Does A Title Transfer Work In Arizona
When you have to sell a car or change your name on a license after a wedding or divorce, you must transfer your car title. A title transfer is a document determining the legal owner of the vehicle, be it you under a new name or another person.
The title transfer process varies from state to state. In Arizona, the title transfer document is issued the first time you buy a car and has to be transferred every time the vehicle changes ownership, or an owner changes their name.
You can complete your title transfer in Arizona by providing the following info:
- Vehicle identification number
- Car year, make, and model
- Names, birth dates, and addresses of every owner listed on the contract
- Lien information or lien release, depending on whether the car was financed or released from a lien holder, respectively
The last step involves signing the document with a notary present.;
Other Steps For The Buyer When Vehicle Ownership Is Transferred
- Check the registration card for:
- Current registered owner, how names are joined , and lienholder/legal owner .
- License plate number, vehicle identification number , make, model, year, and registration expiration date.
- Title brands .
- Words Nontransferable/No California Title Issued, indicating a California title was not issued and a REG 227 cannot be used .
Once the buyer has provided the DMV with all the proper documents and fees, the vehicle record is updated to reflect the change of ownership and a registration card is issued.
A new title is issued from DMV headquarters within 60 calendar days.
To transfer a vehicle between family members, submit the following:
- The California Certificate of Title properly signed or endorsed on line 1 by the registered owner shown on the title. Complete the new owner information on the back of the title and sign it.
- A Statement of Facts for use tax and smog exemption .
- Odometer disclosure for vehicles less than 10 years old.
You may transfer a vehicle from an individual to the estate of that individual without signatures on the Certificate of Title.
Submit the following:
Use tax and a smog certification are not required.
Vehicle ownership can be transferred to a deceased owners heir 40 days after the owners death, as long as the value of the deceaseds property in California does not exceed:
- $150,000 if the deceased died before 1/1/20.
- $166,250 if the deceased died on or after 1/1/20.
Read Also: What Type Of Car Do I Have
Inherit Gift Or Donate A Vehicle
When you inherit a vehicle, you’ll use the same car title transfer process that you use when buying a car in Arizona.
If you give a vehicle as a gift, you’ll transfer the title as if you’re selling the car.
You can also donate a vehicle to a non-profit or charity organization. Learn more on our Car Donations page.
Identifying The Sellers Responsibilities
The seller is responsible for getting the title notarized. The seller must sign the title in the presence of a notary public. If there is more than one current owner of the vehicle, all individuals whose names appear on the title must sign the title before a notary public. If the vehicle title has a lien on it, the owner must sign a lien release in the presence of a notary publicone for every lien listed. Purchasers should understand that if they possess the title without the lien release, they are then responsible for paying off that lien. Lastly, the seller must complete the notice of sale within 10 days.
Don’t Miss: How Much Does It Cost To Paint A Car
Order A Duplicate California Certificate Of Title
You must order a duplicate California Certificate of Title when the original is lost, stolen, damaged, illegible, or not received.;
To order a duplicate title, submit the following:
- The original title .
- California photo driver license .
- Duplicate title fee.
- If another duplicate title was issued in the past 90 days, a Verification of Vehicle completed by the California Highway Patrol . This requirement only applies if the registered owners name or address doesnt match DMV records*.
You can submit your application either in-person* at a DMV office or by mail:
Department of Motor VehiclesPO Box 942869Sacramento, California 94269-0001
If youre submitting your form to;a DMV office, we recommend you make an appointment so you can avoid any lines.;
Youll receive your title by mail 15-30 calendar days from the date you submit the duplicate title application.
*If youre applying for a duplicate title and the registered owners name or address doesnt match DMV records , you must submit your application in person with proof of ownership and an acceptable photo ID .
How To Transfer A Car Title In Arizona
Without a title, there is no proof that you own the car youre driving. Whenever a car is bought or sold, the title must be transferred from the original owner to the new owner . In the state or Arizona, the process only requires a few steps, but it is crucial that they are completed correctly or the DMV will not recognize the title transfer.
Recommended Reading: How Much To Get Car Detailed
Completing Auto Title Transfers In Arizona
Many Arizona residents will eventually need to complete a vehicle title transfer as either a buyer or seller. Its important to have some idea of how this process works and your requirements on either side of the table before beginning the transfer process. When it comes to an Arizona auto title transfer, how to start depends on whether youre buying or selling.
Transferring A Car Title In Arizona
When you sell a car in Arizona, the first step is to undergo an Arizona title transfer. However, if you attempt an Arizona title transfer without a notary you will put yourself in a bad situation, and may void your car title. You must sign your Arizona car title in front of a notary so they can officially verify and certify your signature.
The process of how to notarize your AZ title is pretty simple. You can find a local title notary at a bank or post office, and pay them a nominal fee for their services. You will have to bring a valid ID and sign the title in front of the notary. They’ll provide an official certification of the document, and validate the transfer of the title. Before you book an appointment with a notary, however, you need to figure out the exact place to sign your title.
You May Like: What To Use To Clean Car Windows