Your Car Was Towed Because It Was Undrivable
Maybe the vehicle is undrivable and police towed your car after an accident or because the vehicle was unregistered, the driver was uninsured or was arrested for a driving violation, like being stopped for drunk driving. According to the Insurance Information Institute, states can impound vehicles as a penalty for driving without compulsory auto liability insurance.
In cases where a vehicle is undrivable, law enforcement would have the vehicle towed to a holding facility, referred to as an impound or tow yard. Towing an undrivable vehicle is necessary to clear the street or to keep the car safe until the vehicle owner is able to legally retrieve it or the violation at issue is resolved.
Contact The Impound Lot Where The Vehicle Was Taken
As noted, once you have the contact information, you have to get in touch with the impound lot to confirm that they have your car. Its at this point of the process that all the paperwork begins.
After you find out where your car is located, the next step is to gather all the necessary documents to release the vehicle. This can include car registration, title, etc. If some of the paperwork is in the car, you may need to go to the impound lot and explain the issue. They will likely grant you access to your vehicle to retrieve your documents.
Know Your Rights When Your Car Is Being Towed
There are statewide caps for much it is to tow a car in Oklahoma. For a vehicle weighing 8,000 pounds or less, the maximum hookup rate a wrecker can charge is $81.25. Tow services can charge hourly rates or distance rates, but not both. If your tow truck charges by the mile, for the same car mentioned above, its $3.75 per mile for 25 miles or less. Wreckers charge $3.13 per mile for distances greater than 25 miles. If they charge by the hour, its $75 per hour , but the towing company can bill a minimum of one and a half hours.
If youre a car owner whose vehicle has been towed, you have the same rights as you would if your car was parked in a garage. Your car is still available to you, but first you must pay for the storage fees. You will not be allowed to remove your car from storage until you have paid, but you have the right to access your car and retrieve contents from inside it.
In Oklahoma, maximum storage rates for cars up to 20 feet in length range from $18 to $30 per day. Larger vehicles can have rates as expensive as $42 to $54 per day. The most you can be charged for an after-hours release is a $15 fee. Tow yards can charge you a full days rate even if your car is there for only a portion of the day, but they cant charge more than one days storage if your car has been in their possession less than 24 hours.
Recommended Reading: What Oil Do I Need For My Car
What Happens After My Car Gets Towed
After your car is towed, its brought to our lot and the gate is locked. It stays there until you come and get it .
There. Thats the mystery.
We know you still have questions, so well answer two of the most common ones first:
1. How much do I have to pay to pick it up?
We charge $170/hour for the initial tow, plus $43 for every additional day the car is stored.
1a. Why is it so much?
The state of Washington sets arange of fees each year for the rates . They regulate these, too.
2. How do I pay?
You can pay with cash or . We cannot take credit cards over the phone, either. Payment must be done in person. The person paying must have matching identification. If youre using a partner/friends card, you need to go to an ATM and bring cash.
Stopping A Tow In Progress
The owner of the vehicle being towed, or a person entitled to possession, can request the release of the vehicle before the tow truck is in motion.
In that event, the car must be unhooked and released and a binding agreement must be executed in which the owner consents to pay the vehicle release penalty.
The owner must present a current drivers license and the registration, title, insurance identification, and car keys. If the vehicle is a rental, you must produce a rental agreement and car keys. If it is a company car, you must present your company identification.
To review the City of New York’s parking summons penalty schedule, visit our fines page.
Recommended Reading: Will Carmax Buy My Leased Car
How Much Does It Cost To Tow A Car
The following is the maximum amount that wreckers can charge in Oklahoma to tow vehicles weighing less than 8,000 pounds :
- $81.25 for the hookup, and
- Either the hourly rate $75 per hour
- Or the distance rate $3.75 per mile for tows 25 miles or less, $3.13 per mile for tows over 25 miles
The maximum rates increase for heavier vehicles or for a combination of vehicles. You may find better rates, but those are the highest you can be charged under Oklahoma law. Note: Wreckers can either charge by the mile or by the hour they cant do both.
Some other fees may apply, though, including a fuel surcharge set by the state. If any additional labor is needed, such as disconnecting the drive line, that will add to the cost. If your car has to be stored at the tow yard, that will be extra as well, starting at a maximum of $18 per day for outdoor storage and $30 per day for indoor storage.
Some auto insurance covers towing after an accident, either wholly or in part. You may be able to get reimbursed if you use the right towing service.
Additionally, how much it costs to tow a car can be greatly reduced if you have a membership in an auto club, such as AAA. Towing may be included as a benefit.
You Are Behind On Your Car Payments
Perhaps you are certain you did not park in any illegal or off-limits spaces. Another reason your car may be missing is that it was repossessed. A repossession is different than just being towed away. You are not able to go and get it back immediately. Normally, there is a longer process you have to go through to get it back.
Your vehicle can get repossessed if you are behind on car payments. Typically, you will know if your car is in danger of being repossessed, as you would have received many warnings over the phone and many written warnings in the mail. When you are one or two payments behind on your car payment, you will begin getting these reminders.
If you continue to miss the payments, they will begin to warn you that your car is in danger of being repossessed. A towing company/repossession crew will try to locate you and your vehicle. They are not legally allowed to go into your house or open your garage, but if your vehicle is out in the open, then most of the time they can come onto your property to tow your vehicle.
Because they prefer not to come on your property, they may wait until you go to a grocery store or park in a public parking space. This is where you may think you have gotten towed for parking in an illegal space when in reality your car could have been repossessed. Just be sure to rule out a repossession if you suspect your car may have been towed.
Can A Friend Get My Car Out Of Impound
Yes. In some jurisdictions, you can authorize a friend or some other person to collect the vehicle from the impound lot on your behalf.
They will need to bring a letter of authorization signed by you, permitting them to pick up the vehicle a copy of your license plate or passport so that the impound lot can verify that you signed the authorization letter and proof of insurance.
Getting A Car Out Of Impound By Requesting A Hearing
If the law enforcement agency placed a hold on the car, you may still have the right to retrieve your property through an administrative hearing before an administrative judge or officer. Some jurisdictions require formal written requests and a filing fee, and most have very short filing deadlines. In Illinois, you have to ask for a preliminary hearing within 15 days of your car being impounded.
At the hearing, the government must present evidence concerning why they impounded the car, which is normally a police report or law enforcement testimony. You will be allowed to present valid defenses.
Ask the police or your city or town hall for information on the hearing procedures for getting a vehicle released from impound. It may be time to seek lawyer involvement because the process will involve filing a petition for release, and presenting evidence and asserting limited defenses.
Generally, the only successful defense is that the car was stolen and reported stolen in a timely manner. Usually, the fact that someone else was driving your car is not a valid defense because in most jurisdictions, unless the car was stolen, owners can be fined even if they were not driving and did not know how the car was being used.
Also Check: How To Prevent Car Door From Freezing
States That Do Not Allow You Access To Your Towed Car
Georgia is the only state that does not require the towing company to give you access to your personal belongings. This includes access to emergency supplies, work documents, and other necessary items.
That means the only way in is to pay the towing fees, otherwise, you will not be permitted into your vehicle. Many individuals may be tempted to bribe their way in, but this is not advised. The maximum towing rate is capped at $175 if your car is 10,000 pounds or less with a peak storage rate of $25 per day.
What Should You Do If Your Car Gets Impounded
Most law enforcement agencies have contracts with towing and impound lots that they use. With that said you will be charged for initial towing to get your car from the arrest location to the impound lot. Then charged a daily rate for each day your car is there. However, there are a few things you should know and do.
Ask for your car to be released
As soon as possible you should ask to release the car even if the police towed it and had a right to do so. Keep in mind that towing a vehicle is not that same thing as keeping it. Once your car is impounded you will be charged storage and holding fees. You need to contact someone as soon as possible to retrieve the vehicle from the impound lot. Be sure that person has a valid driving license
Court orders to retrieve your car may be necessary
If you try and get your car from the impound lot but they refuse to release the car then you may need to get a court order to retrieve your vehicle. You could petition the court for release of the car until your case is resolved. Even if your car is subjected to impounded after a conviction.
You May Like: Where Can I Use My Car Care One Credit Card
How Long Will The Towing Company Keep The Car In The Tow Yard
While it may vary between towing companies, AM/PM Towing in Provo will hold onto a vehicle for about three months before it looks to impound and take title to the car. After three months, they contact the city to get permission to seize the car. Then, the tow company works with the city to obtain title over the car. Once the tow company gets the title, it salvages the vehicle.Once the towing company obtains title, it will take it to the scrap metal yard where they weigh the car to see how much the metal is worth.On occasion or about once every three months, a city official may come by the tow yard and impound cars that have sat there for a few months. This process makes it much easier for the towing company to obtain title to the car.
I What Are Your Rights
When a tow truck tries to tow your car or after your car has been towed, you have certain rights as the car owner under the law.
You may request a TOW HEARING at any Justice of the Peace Court in the county where your car was towed if you believe your car was wrongfully towed, stored or booted or if you were charged more than the allowed fee. You must request a tow hearing from the court within 14 days of the tow.
You DO NOT have the right to:
- Remove or dismantle any part attached to the car while it is at the VSF.
- Retrieve your car from the VSF without paying the towing, storage or other allowed fees.
- Have the boot removed without paying the booting fee.
- Retrieve your car from the VSF without demonstrating that you are the owner or authorized user of the car.
- Obtain your car after it has been removed from the parking facility but before it has been placed in a VSF.
You May Like: Where Is Synchrony Car Care Accepted
What To Do If Your Car Gets Towed
When you return to your parking spot and find a space or a different car, your first question or reaction will probably be was my car towed or stolen?
What would you do if your car is towed? Why was your car towed in the first place?
No one plans or expects to have their car towed and impounded. Here, you will learn what to do if your car gets towed.
How To Stop A Tow Mid
If the tow truck has not yet started to move off, you can request that your vehicle be released. The tow-truck operator must release it but will require that a binding agreement be made in which you consent to pay the release fee. This can only be done if you can produce your driver’s license, title, registration, identification, insurance, and the keys of the vehicle.
Don’t Miss: Are Grandchildren Eligible For Usaa
Find Out Where Your Car Is Impounded
You have a few options to help you figure out which tow yard or impound lot your cars in.
When you speak with the police, try to ascertain why your vehicle was towed, even if it is quite apparent . This will enable you to prepare for a discussion with the tow company or impounding yard, as well as time to research and read your states towing laws.
What Happens When Your Car Gets Towed In Elmwood Park Il Who Do You Call For Fast Service
There are a number of scenarios where your car can be towed away before you knew it happened. Sometimes no parking areas werent correctly or clearly marked, your vehicle broke down in front of a gas pump, or it was stranded on the highway for far too long. Regardless as to why or when you vehicle gets towed, you might panic and wonder where to start looking for your missing vehicle. Bernies Towing Service knows the feeling and wants to help you know where to begin looking for your vehicle and what it takes to get it back.
Also Check: Walmart Car Key Copy Price
How To Get A Car Out Of Impound
There may be numerous reasons why your car gets impounded. But regardless of the circumstances surrounding the impound action, you will have to proceed through several steps to get your car out of the impound lot.
In this guide, we will walk you through the process of retrieving your vehicle from the impound lot and answer the most critical questions associated with the process.
What Happens When Your Car Is Impounded
If your car was impounded, it will not be released until further action is taken. So, just how long can police impound your car? Sometimes the car will be released once youve proven ownership and paid a fine and storage fee. In other cases, the police may require the vehicle to be held pending a criminal investigation. Therefore, you need to ask if the car is subject to any sort of hold before it can be released from impound.
You May Like: Repair Cigarette Burn In Car
S To Take At The Scene Of The Accident
It can be particularly helpful to take pictures of all the vehicles in their resting position immediately after the car accident. If a person is well enough to do so at the scene, it can be helpful later. Most people have access to a camera on their cell phones. This information can be invaluable to a personal injury attorney representing your interests and to an accident reconstructionist employed to give their opinion regarding how the accident occurred.
It is also critical to determine if the other driver or drivers involved in an accident have insurance coverage. Texas law requires the exchange of information at the scene of an accident. The names, addresses, insurance policy information, and registration numbers of the vehicles must all be exchanged. If the parties are severely injured at the scene, and police are present, police will likely obtain this information and put it in their report.
When an accident is severe and people are transported to hospitals, dealing with the towing and location of a vehicle may be low on a persons immediate priority list. But towing and storage fees are expensive. Storage fees continue to add up until paid and the vehicle is released. Who pays for the towing and storage fees?