What Is A Vehicle Title
The owner of the vehicle holds the vehicles title. You are issued the title to the vehicle at the time you buy your car even if you financed it and are still making payments. Several important pieces of info can be found on your car title.
- Your vehicles VIN. The vehicle identification number of a car remains consistent no matter who owns it. Its like your cars unique ID number. It can be used to track ownership, accidents and even repair and maintenance records.
- Make and model info. This includes the cars model year, as well as any additional model information for trim upgrades or special engine options.
- Permit number. Used as an administrative tracking tool.
- Date title was issued. Extremely important this is used to track when you bought or sold the vehicle.
- Licence plate. The vehicles current plate number when the title was issued.
- Weight class. Typically the higher a vehicles weight class is, the more it will cost for annual registration.
- Full name and address of owner. The car owners full name and home address.
How To Transfer A Car Title
Many or all of the products featured here are from our partners who compensate us. This may influence which products we write about and where and how the product appears on a page. However, this does not influence our evaluations. Our opinions are our own. Here is a list ofour partnersandhere’s how we make money.
A car title is a document that proves who owns a vehicle. When you sell your car, the title must be legally transferred to the new owner so that person can complete the registration process.
Lets start with a small point of clarification: The cars title, sometimes called the pink slip, isnt always pink anymore. Regardless of its color, the title is issued by your states department of motor vehicles. Beyond indicating who owns the car, the title also includes the vehicle identification number, the mileage at the time of sale and what type of car it is.
Other Steps For The Seller When Vehicle Ownership Is Transferred
- Disclose odometer mileage reading on the title or on a Vehicle/Vessel Transfer and Reassignment form* , unless the vehicle is:
- 10 years old or older.
- Commercial with a GVW or CGW of more than 16,000 pounds.
- New and being transferred prior to its first retail sale by a dealer.
Once the seller gives the buyer all required documentation and DMV receives the completed NRL, the sellers part of the transaction is complete.
*If the vehicle has been sold more than once with the same title, a REG 262 is required from each seller.
Don’t Miss: Leasing Through Carvana
How To Change Name On Car Registrationin South Carolina
Many drivers may wonder How do I change my name on my car registration in South Carolina? after an important life event like marriage. Changing names on South Carolina car registration is a simple process once drivers update their Social Security information after marriage or a court-ordered name update. A car registration name change for South Carolina drivers must take place no more than 30 days after the official name change, per state law. Along with a name change on SC car registration, drivers may update their car registration address on the same name change form within 30 days of moving residences, if necessary.
To change name on registration in South Carolina, motorists must submit the request in person to a local DMV office or by mail to the DMVs P.O. box. To change a name on car registration, drivers need to fill out and submit a name update form and a new driving license application from the DMV office or printed from the DMVs website. Motorists applying for a name change on car registration documentation should check with their DMV office for accepted forms of payment for its driving license replacement fee. Along with the two applications and replacement fee, residents changing name on SC car registration documents must also provide proof of name change such as a marriage license, a county court order or a divorce decree.
What Happens To A Title When I Sell The Car
There are two additional sections to the vehicle title designated to reassigning ownership. The buyer and seller both fill out their respective sections and enter the following info:
- Buyer and seller information, usually name and address
- Odometer reading
This title assignment can only be filled out once, and it cant be corrected or amended. No scratching things out or erasing them. Because this form is so important, your focus and penmanship should be top-notch when youre filling it out.
What kind of documentation do I need after selling my car?
After you sell your car, you should keep a copy of the reassigned title for your records. But why would you need to keep track of a vehicle youve gotten your money for and sent down the road?
Lets say you sell a car to someone in a private sale. Both you and the buyer fill out the title transfer properly, and the new owner goes on their way.
Now six months later you receive a letter or phone call telling you your vehicle, the one you sold, has been impounded after some criminal activity. Youre told that youre responsible for coming to get the car, as well as the damages from an accident the vehicle was involved in youre still listed as the owner.
How could this be possible?
What happens if I dont sell my car directly?
How do I get proof of the car sale?
Don’t Miss: Diy Hail Car Cover
Statutory Declaration & Certified Copies
People authorized to witness your signature on statutory declarations and provide you with certified copies of documents include:
- practicing lawyers
- notaries public and
- individuals appointed by the Attorney General as commissioners for taking affidavits
Note: Authorized individuals charge a fee for witnessing your signature. For a fee of $17, the Vital Statistics Vancouver office located at 250-605 Robson Street, can witness your signature on the statutory declaration and certify original documents.
Reverting To The Use Of A Birth Surname
If you take a spouse’s surname, you can choose to revert to the use of your birth surname at any time. To change your name on bank accounts, social insurance number, driver’s license, and other agencies, present your marriage certificate and birth certificate or Canadian Citizenship Certificate to prove the link between the two surnames.
Read Also: How Much Does A Car Salesman Make Per Sale
How To Perform A Car Registration Name Change In South Carolina
A name change on car registration in South Carolina is an action many motorists may need to take to keep accurate records. Changing name on car registration files is one important step in maintaining legal and responsible car ownership. Before applying to change name on car registration at the Department of Motor Vehicles , motorists must first make the change with the Social Security Administration. Changing name on a car registration is essential after any name changes related to major life events. Drivers who do not change name on registration may face difficulty proving car ownership.
To Transfer A Title You Will Always Need:
- Either the California Certificate of Title or an Application for Replacement or Transfer of Title .
- The signature of seller and lienholder .
- The signature of buyer.
Depending on the type of transfer , you might need to complete and submit additional forms .
Submit your title transfer paperwork and fee to a DMV office or by mail to:
DMVSacramento, CA 94269
Don’t Miss: How To Get Cigarette Burns Out Of Car Upholstery
Can I Drive A Deceased Persons Car
Yes, you simply need to know how to transfer a car title to a family member, assuming you were related. If you are unsure, seek help from your local DMV or an attorney. If you are buying a deceased person’s car, make sure the seller has done the paperwork correctly and is legally allowed to sell it to you.
When To Renew Instead Of Update Your Registration In Texas
If you are wondering when to renew your car registration in Texas or when to update your name only, you need to know that a vehicle registration renewal procedure may be completed at the same time as the name change process. If you want to renew your car registration name change requests may be submitted at the same time at the TX DPS.
During a vehicle registration renewal name change procedure may be performed by vehicle owners who want to avoid getting a duplicate credential. Find out more information about registration renewal grace periods in Texas and name update procedures by contacting a nearby TX DPS office.
Read Also: Are Grandchildren Eligible For Usaa
Know Your States Title Transfer Laws
Transferring a car title is usually simple to do, but its important to know that each states Department of Motor Vehicles has its own rules and guidelines. This AAA page is a useful online resource listing some of the steps required by each state.
In many cases, completing the paperwork, paying the applicable taxes and transfer of title fees, and providing information concerning the vehicles condition is a simple step-by-step process.
How Car Title Transfer Works
Transferring a car title consists of two steps, one for the seller and one for the buyer. First, the seller has to release ownership of the car by signing the title. The buyer then takes the signed title to the DMV, and the state issues a new registration and title. Some states might require additional paperwork to complete the process, such as a bill of sale or a transfer of ownership form.
When you’re buying a new car, a dealer handles the paperwork and you usually receive the vehicle title from your states DMV in the mail. But when private parties buy or sell cars, its up to them to transfer the title.
States may also require the seller to provide basic information about the car, such as the sales price and the current odometer reading. Before signing the title, check with your states DMV to find the proper line on which to sign and how to supply the correct information. For example, heres a short video on where to sign from the California DMV.
You May Like: Hyundai Equus Reliability
Before You Do Anything Make Sure Your Title Is Transferable
Before you can transfer a car title, you have to first make sure the title is transferable. This is an important step in knowing how to sell your car and typically involves checking to see what names are listed as owners on the title.
If only your name is listed as a registered owner on the title, its typically quick and easy to transfer ownership because you have full control of the transaction. However, you might see other names listed on the title, such as a spouse, cosigner, or a bank or lender. If this is the case, you typically need to have all parties agree before you can transfer ownership.
A bank or lenders name often shows up as a lien holder on the title, which typically means the car is being financed and needs to be paid off before it can be sold. You will need to pay off the loan to become the sole owner or reach an agreement with the lender to transfer ownership of the car.
In the case there isnt a lien holder on the title, but there is the name of a spouse or cosigner, check the specific wording on the car title. If there is an and between the names of the two parties, you both likely need to agree to transfer ownership. If there is an or between the names of the two parties, its likely that only one party needs to agree to the transfer.
Name Change Following Marriage
Section 3 of the Name Act allows you to use your spouses surname after marriage without completing a legal change of name. In most cases, changing your name on bank accounts, social insurance number, driver’s license, and other agencies is as simple as showing your current identification and your marriage certificate.
There are only a couple of circumstances in which you would need a legal change of name to take a spouse’s name:
- If you want to create a new surname by adding your birth surname as a middle name
- If you want to update your immigration or citizenship documents to reflect a new name or a married surname.
If you were born and/or married in B.C., changing your surname legally will change your surname on your birth certificate and your current marriage certificate. If you were born or married outside of B.C. but within Canada, contact your birth/marriage province to find out how it will affect your record.
Read Also: Vaseline Interior Car Scratches
Preparing To Make The Change
Is The Vehicle Part Of A Probated Estate
Once a vehicle owner has passed away, the process for transferring the car title of the deceased person varies depending on whether the vehicle title was in the individuals name as a decedent or whether it was in a joint ownership. If the title was only in the decedents name, youll need to determine if the estate is being probated.
Whats a probated estate? Probate is a legal process that involves administering the estate of the individual who has passed away. It typically happens when there is no living spouse or beneficiary listed on the will. A probate proves that the last will and testament is legitimate, checking out the deceased persons assets and property. Then, the Probate Court determines how to proceed with the persons belongings. During this process, the deceased individuals property will be distributed based on their will.
If the vehicle is part of a probated estate, follow these steps to transfer the car title of a deceased person:
1. Contact Probate Court and attorney.
2. Gather the required documents to transfer the car title of a deceased person.
While the documents needed does vary slightly from one state to the next, you need to have all of the following in order to transfer the title in most states:
- Order from Probate Court to transfer the vehicle
- Certificate of the title
Recommended Reading: How Do I Get A Paper Title In Florida
How Much It Costs To Sign Over Your Car Title
The cost to transfer or sign over your car title to someone else can depend on where you live and the type of vehicle being transferred. Here are a few costs you might have to consider when transferring a car title:
- Transfer fee: Your state may require a flat transfer fee to transfer your car title to someone else. The amount of this fee varies by state. For example, California charges $15, but New York charges $10.
- Sales tax: You typically have to pay sales and/or use tax when registering a vehicle you bought from a private seller. If you buy a vehicle from a dealer, the sales tax is typically paid to the dealer. The sales tax is based on the purchase price of the vehicle. Some states dont require sales tax to be collected on private party vehicle sales or gifts.
- Notarized bill of sale: If you live in a state that requires a notarized bill of sale to accompany a car title during a transfer of ownership, you likely have to pay to get the bill of sale notarized. Getting a document notarized doesnt typically cost more than $10 or $15.
- Inspection and/or emissions: Certain states may require a vehicle safety inspection or a smog check before a transfer of ownership can be completed with a car registration. These fees can vary depending on the state and the business administering the tests. For example, emission inspections fees in Utah generally range from $20 to $30.
Transfers From A Deceased Owner
A transfer from a deceased owner can occur if you inherit a vehicle from a dead friend or relative. To take ownership of the vehicle, you have to get your name on the title, which is of course more challenging in this scenario.
The requirements for transferring a car title can vary depending on the state you live in and the situation. You most commonly need a copy of the death certificate of the deceased individual, but you may also need a court letter specifying certain information about the estate of the deceased. Check with your states DMV office to see what documents are required in your state for this type of transfer.
Read Also: How To Repair Burn Hole In Cloth Car Seat