Electronic Titles Make Things Easy
Through the use of an electronic title, there is support for:
Electronic lien releases
Digital lien notifications
Reduction of storage space and risk of loss
While most states will soon be on-board with this way of processing titles, at the time of this writing 20 states are currently processing e-titles. These states are Arizona, California, Colorado, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Kansas, Louisiana, Massachusetts, New York, North Carolina, Ohio, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, Washington, and Wisconsin.
Transferring A Title And Registration
To transfer a title and registration, you must have these items:
- A signed and notarized vehicle title
- A lien release, if applicable
- All applicable title and registration fees
- Any other documents that apply
If there is a lien on the vehicle that has not been paid off, written permission from the lienholder/lender will be required to add or delete a name.
Visit The Template Website
Several web services give access to templates of all kinds. Simply choose the fake vehicle template that corresponds with your locale and click to proceed.
Note: Some web services offer paid services regarding how to create a fake car title. If you have several persons to prank with fake car titles, you may have to subscribe to the premium plans.
Examples of car title template websites are:
Don’t Miss: What’s The Average Commission For A Car Salesman
Status Of Your Vehicle
You can change the status of your vehicle when:
- you sell your vehicle
- your vehicle has been inspected by a licensed mechanic
If you sell your vehicle, you will need to change the status of your vehicle to sold. You need to go to a ServiceOntario location and bring:
- original vehicle permit
- a letter that includes the Vehicle Identification Number , when the vehicle was sold and to whom it was sold.
Titling And Registering Vehicles
Tax and Title
Within 15 days of buying a vehicle, you must title it in your name at a Secretary of State office. Failure to transfer the title within that time will result in a $15 late fee. At the time of titling, a $15 title transfer fee will be collected. If a lien is added, the fee is $16. A six-percent use tax will also be collected. No use tax is collected when the title transfer is made to a father, mother, son, daughter, brother, sister, husband, wife grandparent, grandchild, stepfather, stepmother, stepchild, stepsister, stepbrother, father-in-law, mother-in-law, brother-in-law, sister-in-law, son-in-law, daughter-in-law, grandparent-in-law, legal ward or legal guardian of the previous owner.
If you request instant title service, you will be charged a $5 instant title fee in addition to any other fees you may owe.
Obtaining an Instant Title
Individuals who need to obtain a title may process an application at any Secretary of State branch office. Title applications require proof of vehicle ownership and proper identification. Individuals who have lost an existing Michigan title and need to obtain a replacement title immediately can take advantage of instant title service at all Branch Offices.
NOTE: For duplicate title transactions when there are two owners on the title record, only one owner needs to appear and sign the title application. An appointment of agent is not needed from the other owner. Both owner names will appear on the duplicate title.
You May Like: Who Is Avis Owned By
Updating The Title To Reflect The Name Removal
Finally, its time to update the names of the owner in the title. To do this, turn to the back of your cars title certificate, where theyll be a form. Once more, remember to ask the state DMV about this, as some of them have a special application or form to request changes to be made to the title. Now, fill in all the blank spaces in the form, as though youre selling the car.
Therefore, the sellers name section should be your name , and the buyers name is the name of the other party. Specifically, its either the name of the other joint owner in the title or whoever it is thatll get the car after you. A very important step to note here is being careful when filling in this form.
What Happens To A Title When I Sell The Car
There are two additional sections to the vehicle title designated to reassigning ownership. The buyer and seller both fill out whats called the Title Assignment section and enter the following info.
- Buyer and seller information, usually name and address
- Odometer reading
This title assignment can only be filled out once, and it cant be corrected or amended. No scratching things out or erasing them. Because this form is so important, your focus and penmanship should be top-notch when youre filling it out.
What kind of documentation do I need after selling my car?
After you sell your car, you must keep a copy of the reassigned title for at least 18 months. But why would you need to keep track of a vehicle youve gotten your money for and sent down the road?
Lets say you sell a car to someone in a private sale. Both you and the buyer fill out the title transfer properly, and the new owner goes on their way.
Now six months later you receive a letter or phone call telling you your vehicle, the one you sold, has been impounded after some criminal activity. Youre told that youre responsible for coming to get the car, as well as the damages from an accident the vehicle was involved in youre still listed as the owner.
How could this be possible?
What happens if I dont sell my car directly?
How do I get proof of the car sale?
Read Also: Car Title Online Florida
How To File For A Lost Title
To replace a lost title, check out this resource from Finance and Insurance Tools. It provides the links to state applications for replacement titles plus the cost. According to the F& I, the cost will range from $2 to 95, depending on the state where you live.
RELATED STORIES: How to Sell a Car Without a Title
Electronic Titles Are Heresafe Secure Convenient
No more paper
When you title or register a vehicle in Arizona, your title information is stored electronically and you no longer automatically receive a paper title. You can view your title information in your AZ MVD Now account. Similarly, when you pay off a vehicle loan, the title will be held electronically.
If a paper title is needed, for reasons such as moving out of state, you can use the Title Replacement service on AZ MVD Now. The fee is $4.
Recommended Reading: How Do I Transfer An Electronic Title In Florida
Getting A Car Title Through The Dealership
Are you purchasing a new car from a dealership? If so, this is going to be pretty simple. You can expect a streamlined title-transfer process if youre a new owner of a new car. You dont have to handle things yourself as you would when buying a car from a private seller. When buying from a dealership, you can expect the dealer to handle this for you. Typically, the dealer goes directly to the DMV and has the title mailed to you. You should get this car title in a couple of weeks.
What if you trade in a vehicle? Its very similar to a private sale, where the seller signs over the car title to a buyer. In the case of a trade-in vehicle, you sign the title to release ownership to the dealership. The dealer will ask for the original title when you trade in the vehicle. They work with legal documents all the time and will take care of the signed title.
How To Get A New Car Title In Florida
A Florida car title is a legal document that serves as proof of vehicle ownership. Vehicle owners must obtain a car title for all motor vehicles, mobile homes or vessels, unless the vehicle is a motorized bicycle, moped or trailer weighing less than 2,000 pounds.
Drivers must apply for an auto title in Florida whenever they purchase or acquire a new vehicle, or bring a new or used vehicle into the state. Additionally, car owners must apply for a vehicle title whenever a vehicle changes ownership. To learn how to get car titles and to discover the ways in which titles relate to vehicle registrations, review the sections below.
Also Check: How To Cancel Insurance Geico
Buying A New Car: What Happens To The Title
In terms of a title, buying a new car is a no-brainer. The dealer takes care of all things title-related. You will pay whatever fees are involved, but the dealer deals with the paperwork.
When you buy a car, you either pay cash, lease, or finance. Only when you pay cash will you receive the original title. And, processing it might take as long as 30 days. Leasing a car is glorified renting. You never receive the actual title because the car never belongs to you.
When you finance a vehicle, you will receive a copy of the title within 90 days. It will identify the lender as a lienholder. When youve paid the loan in full, you will receive the actual title reflecting you as the owner free and clear.
Sign In The Right Place To Avoid Delays
This may sound obvious, but its essential. Car titles have several boxes and blank lines, so they can be confusing. This is particularly true if the title is older or the paper is in poor condition, making it hard to read. Title transfers are only official if you sign on the right line.
If you make a mistake, its not the end of the world. But it could cause delays. A correction can require you to get a duplicate title separate from the original title. This certified copy then requires a whole new signature for releasing ownership.
In some states, you just need a correction form. Each state has its own rules, so check your state DMVs website if the seller signs on the wrong line. If the seller has any confusion about how to sign over a car title, get in touch with your states DMV.
Recommended Reading: Super Start Platinum Agm 65plt
The Lender Must Be Satisfied Before Vehicle Title Transfer
If the seller doesnt own the car outright, the title will list the bank or lender. The title will likely label this party the lienholder. This makes it clear that they have a claim on some of the cars value. The loan has to be paid to eliminate their ownership interest. Only then can the registered owner transfer possession of the used car.
A seller should get in touch with the lender before selling the car and transferring the title. The lender will be able to help with the next steps. The specific steps will differ for each lender. The seller will need evidence the debt has been settled. Releasing ownership to a buyer wont be possible without it.
Are you in the market for an auto loan? This free loan comparison tool can help you compare rates and terms without hurting your credit score.
If you are buying a car, you can and should check the status of the vehicles title. You can check this with your state DMV or with a third-party provider of vehicle history reports.
What Company Will Give Title Loans Without The Car Present
When you apply with us, you can get your car title loan approved without bringing your vehicle in. We can get you the same-day funding that you are looking for. We will get you the most money, and do not worry if you have bad credit, because with us your car equity is your credit.
We have the largest referral network in the nation, and we will get you the best car title loan company, all of our partners are in compliance with the CFPB, so you will know that you are working with a company that you can trust.
Read Also: Repair Cigarette Burn In Car
Vehicle Tags Titles And Registration
Kansasâ 105 county treasurers handled vehicle, registration, tags and renewals. The treasurers also process vehicle titles and can register vehicles including personalized license plates.
Application for a certificate of title and registration must be made through the local county treasurerâs office where the vehicle is garaged. To avoid penalties vehicle registration must be made within 60 days of the vehicleâs purchase, the day the title was assigned to the new owner or the day the bill of sale was completed for an antique vehicle.
Kansas Division of Vehicles can print duplicate titles, and customers can reprint tag renewal notices online.
Skip The Line Let Us Do The Hard Work For You
We are a small group of vehicle specialists who are passionate about combating title fraud. In addition to VIN Checks and Vehicle Accident Reports, we can get you a new car title and fresh license plates! Our process is quick, easy, and transparent. Buy now or bookmark for later:
Contact us with any questions. If you lost a title and need help, contact us for a no-obligation chat.
About the AuthorJustin Dake once caused a traffic jam on the Oakland Bay Bridge. His most recent motorcycle sent a rod though the radiator while he was riding it. He expects his good luck to continue. Find his work at jstn.dk.
Recommended Reading: Fixing Burn Holes In Car Upholstery
A Car Title Proves That Youre The Cars Legal Owner So Youll Need To Know How To Get It After Purchasing A Car
If youre making a cash purchase at a dealership, the dealer will usually send your title paperwork to your local Department of Motor Vehicles, or state transportation or revenue agency. The DMV or agency will send you the official certificate of title once the paperwork has been processed.
If youre financing the vehicle, the lienholder will typically send you the title after the loan has been repaid.
In this article, well take a closer look at how to get a car title and clue you in to some pitfalls to avoid during the process.
Car Titles Are Entering The Digital Age
As the world goes digital, expect to see more states incorporating electronic car titles in the near future. Its a convenient way to increase security, reduce fraud, and help prevent titles from ever getting lost. Furthermore, it makes it easier for lenders to deal with liens while reducing their manpower and it should make filing most title-related paperwork much easier.
Truly the only downside to e-titles at this time is how long it can take to get a paper copy when you want one. As technology continues to progress, we imagine this wait time will continue to decrease as the queue of work at the DMV is reduced by the benefits of digital car titles.
What about you? Do you prefer to keep a paper title on file, or do you like the convenience of keeping it electronically stored? Tell us in the comments!
If you need a new title for your vehicle, let us do the work for you. We can obtain a new title and registration for cars, motorcycles, and almost anything with wheels. We also offer VIN Checks and Vehicle History Reports to help you gather the facts before buying a new car. Click the links to learn more about our services.
Read Also: California Car Registration Price
Requesting A Replacement Title
Replacement titles are not required for vehicles over 20 model years old according to Connecticut State Law C.G.S. Title 14 Sec. 14-166.
How to apply:
- Application for Replacement Certificate of Title must be completed. Section 1 and 3, Signature of Owner, Lienholder, or Legal Representative.
- If a lien is listed on the title, a lien release letter must be submitted with form. Request will not be processed without a lien release.
A replacement title can be issued at any DMV Hub Office or Limited Service Office and appointments are required. Make an appointment here.
You can also mail the application and $25 check or money order payable DMV to:
State of Connecticut
Requests through the mail take approximately 90 days.
Please note: Connecticut does not participate in any electronic title or electronic lien holder program.
Lien Holder Information:
If lien holder is still outstanding, the lienholder may apply for a replacement.
A lien release letter must be obtained from your loan company. The letter must be on loan institution letterhead. Information must include owner name, vehicle description: year, make, identification number, state the loan has been paid in full or there is no interest in the vehicle and signed by authorized agent.
Legal Representative must include documentation:
Ownership Transfer in Absence of Title:
What Is An Alabama Car Registration
Car registration in AL is a process that vehicle owners must complete within 20 days of acquiring a new vehicle. Before obtaining auto registration documentation, car owners cannot legally operate a vehicle on state roadways. However, drivers may only apply for a DMV car registration once they meet all registration prerequisites. For instance, drivers may begin the motor vehicle registration process once they apply for a title and obtain vehicle liability insurance.
When obtaining vehicle registration documents for trucks and/or tractors with gross vehicle weight ratings of more than 55,000 lbs, motorists must also provide proof of federal heavy use tax paid. Once motorists meet these new car registration requirements, the DOR issues drivers a new license plate and collects ad valorem taxes and vehicle registration fees from the applicant.
Note: Drivers cannot get car registration in AL until after they apply for a title.
You May Like: How To Stop Car Windows From Fogging Up In Summer