Title & Registration Plate
Title Plate The Off-Road or RV plate that you may have on your OHV is only an indication that the vehicle has been titled in the State of Arizona. It is NOT a registration plate and does not allow you to ride or drive on roads which require your vehicle to be registered . However, there are exemptions for incidental use on roads requiring registration . In general, incidental use would be crossing a street or conducting very limited travel on it for the purpose of access to OHV area/trails. Check with the local land management agency for information on road status.
Registration Plate State motor vehicle laws apply on many backcountry roads, which means your vehicle must be registered and you must be licensed. Heres a good rule of thumb: If a passenger car can use the road, it needs to be registered. You also need an OHV Decal to operate on unimproved roads, trails and approved use areas not suitable for conventional two-wheel-drive vehicular travel if your vehicle meets the criteria listed below.
What Do I Need To Register My Car In Arizona
There are a few documents youll generally always need to provide when registering a vehicle through the AZ MVD.
To register your vehicle in Arizona, you should always be prepared with:
- Proof of ownership .
- Proof of your current Arizona auto insurance policy.
- A completed Arizona Vehicle Registration Application.
- Your valid drivers license and drivers license number.
- Proof of your residency in the county where you are registering the vehicle.
For used vehicles, you may also need to present:
- The signed and filled out Arizona Certificate of Title from the previous owner.
- A Bill of Sale.
- License plates, if you plan on transferring old plates to the new vehicle.
For out-of-state vehicles being registered in Arizona, you may also need to be prepared with:
- A VIN Verification/VIN Inspection completed by a licensed Arizona VIN inspector.
- The out-of-state Certificate of Title and/or registration documentation.
What Makes A Golf Cart Street Legal In Az
In Arizona, a golf cart that is street legal must be equipped with functional brakes, headlights, taillights, and horns. They are exempt from the states windshield requirement because they are exempt from the states windshield requirement. In Arizona, it is prohibited to operate a golf cart on a public sidewalk.
Recommended Reading: How Much Is Registration In Ca
Registration Renewal In Arizona
Residents who are already registered to drive in Arizona will need to renew their registration once a year some are required at the end of the assigned month, and others have a deadline of the 15th. Car registration in Arizona is valid for either 1 or 2 years check your registration to determine which applies to your vehicle.
To complete your registration renewal in Arizona, you may submit your application online, by phone, by mail, or in person at the MVD office. Make sure you have your current vehicle registration, as this will also act as your application for renewal. The MVD will send out a notice letting you know whether you also need to pass a vehicle emissions test. Youll be asked to pay an $8 renewal fee and whatever your vehicle tax fee is, based upon your car. Either fill out the required information & pay the fees online, or send them in to the office through the envelope provided for mail renewal. If renewing by phone or in person, the representative will issue the instructions to you. You will either pick up your new stickers that day at the office, or they will be mailed to you.
Dont Be Late!
If you have any questions, contact us here were available every day of the week!
How To Register A Vehicle In Arizona
Completing the Arizona vehicle registration process is a mandatory step for motorists who have recently acquired a new or used car. Overall, the procedure to register a car, motorcycle, truck or other types of vehicles can be completed through the Motor Vehicle Division of the state Department of Transportation . The division processes requests for car registrations through its various MVD offices and authorized third-party establishments. Note that you will first have to apply for a vehicle title before requesting an auto registration.
To complete the process of registering a car in AZ, you will be required to submit several documents and pay the applicable titling and registration fees. The requirements to obtain a DMV registration may vary slightly depending on your circumstances, such as your vehicles model year and whether or not you are a current or new resident. Furthermore, while you can complete your vehicle registration renewal via several methods, you can only get your first registration card in person.
Also Check: How Much Does The Average Car Salesman Make
Arizona Vehicle License Tax
The state also charges a vehicle license tax at every registration and renewal. This tax is assessed for each $100 of your vehicle’s value. Note that the value of your vehicle is calculated as 60% of the original manufacturer’s retail price, and that total will be lowered by 16.25% at every registration renewal.
For each $100 of the vehicle’s value, you will be assessed:
- New vehicles: $2.80.
- Used vehicles: $2.89.
- Alternative Fuel Vehicle: .
Please note that if you are registering your vehicle for 2 years or 5 years, you will be responsible for paying the total tax amount for all years you are registering for.
All MVD offices accept checks, money orders or cash. Some offices may accept credit cards. Call before visiting to make sure.
Renewing Your Registration In Arizona
In Arizona, you can renew your vehicle registration online, in person, by phone or by mail. Arizona allows most vehicle registrations for 1 year, 2 year or 5 years at a time.
- The Arizona MVD typically mails your renewal notice several weeks prior to the expiration. You can renew a plate up to 6 months prior to expiration if Arizona does NOT require an emissions test.
- You can renew a plate up to 90 days prior to expiration if Arizona requires an emissions test.
The registration for some vehicles expire on the last day of the month, others expire on the 15th of the month.
Please check your renewal notice or current registration to see which due date applies to your vehicle.
See Arizona Renewals to learn more.
- A credit card for the $4duplicate registration card fee.
Recommended Reading: Does Carvana Buy Leases
How Do I Transfer My Vehicle Registration To Arizona
In order to transfer a car title in person, you must first contact your local Arizona Motor Vehicle Division and request the necessary papers. Once you have gathered all of the appropriate documentation, fill out the Title and Registration Application and turn it in to an Arizona Motor Vehicle Division agent.
How To Complete Your Car Registration In Arizona
Once you purchase your new vehicle, you must apply for a 3-day permit. This 3-day permit costs $1 and allows you to drive to the Arizona MVD , to an emissions test or to an inspection. When registering for this 3-day permit, you must bring:
Proof of auto insurance
Emissions compliance form
You can obtain a 3-day permit either at the dealership, authorized third party or the Arizona Department of Transportation’s online platform here. Once you receive this time-sensitive permit, you are ready to start the process to register your car in Arizona. AZ registration must be completed in person at your nearest MVD office. If you have just moved to Arizona or bought a new car, you have 15 days to register your vehicle. Furthermore, you must register in AZ as soon as you are considered an Arizona resident.
You are considered an Arizona resident as soon as:
Your children attend school in Arizona
You are employed in Arizona
You have an Arizona drivers license
You stay in Arizona for seven months or one calendar year
You own a business in Arizona that transports goods or people
You have a business in Arizona that operates or houses vehicles
You are registered to vote in Arizona
Registering your vehicle at the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division can be a stressful and confusing process if you show up unprepared. We have created a comprehensive and easy-to-follow guide to prepare you for what to bring and what to expect once you arrive.
Read Also: How To Make A Freshie
How To Register A Car In Arizona Without A Title
If you dont have the proper documentation needed to register, dont fret. You can apply for a 90-day registration which allows you to drive your vehicle while you are obtaining the required documentation for registration. The fee for a 90-day registration is $15 and once you have all required paperwork, the vehicle license taxes for the full year will be calculated back to the date the 90-day registration was issued.
Visiting An Arizona Mvd Office
When Arizona residents are ready to register or title their vehicle, they can visit their local Arizona Motor Vehicle Department and present:
- A completed Title and Registration Application
- Proof of a completed and passed emissions test
- The results of the emission test are automatically sent to the MVD, but you still need to provide documentation of a passed emissions test.
The Motor Vehicle Division of Arizona will mail residents their registration documents and license plate tabs. Arizona residents can use their paper receipt as proof of registration until their official registration and tabs arrive in the mail.
Also Check: Car Rental Discounts For Aarp Members
Getting Your Car Inspected In Arizona: A Requirement For Registration
Like all Arizona residents, as a car owner in the Phoenix Metropolitan or Tucson area, you are required to pass Arizona Registration Inspection. Vehicle emissions can be harmful to the environment and are, therefore, controlled by the Arizona Department of Environmental Quality . According to the ADEQ, each vehicle must pass a Vehicle Emissions Inspection Program in order to be registered. Arizona car emissions inspection is mandatory and, if not completed in time, will result in tickets, fines or the inability to drive the vehicle. Smog testing can be intimidating, so here is a compilation of everything you should know about vehicle inspections.
No out-of-state emissions tests are accepted, only a passed test from an Arizona Registration Station will suffice.
If you dont pass inspection the first time around, you must make repairs accordingly until you do.
Until a vehicle passes inspection, it cannot legally operate.
You must complete the inspection no more than 90 days prior to vehicle registration or tag renewal.
In Arizona, all 1967 model year vehicles are required to be tested.
Vehicles exempt from testing requirements include:
Most 2007 or newer vehicles
Most 2009 vehicles using alternative fuel
Model 1966 or older vehicles
What to bring to the Arizona Inspection Testing Station:
Expected prices for inspection fee :
$27.75 for passenger vehicles
$28 for heavy-duty diesel trucks over 8,500 pounds
$19 for most other vehicles
Q: How Often Will My Vehicle Need To Be Tested
A: Depending on the vehicles year and weight, emissions test frequency can vary from 1 to 2 years. Vehicles 1981 and newer that are light duty vehicles will require emissions every 2 years. Vehicles that are 1980 and older, and most vehicles in Tucson, require emissions every year. Check the registration renewal notice to see if your vehicle is due.
You May Like: Where Can I Use My Carcareone Card
Q: How Do I Determine If I Am Out Of The Area
A: Check your physical address using our online address locator tool | Check Address > Note: You will see some areas are shaded pink. The pink area is the emissions control area. Your address will be marked by an “X” and there will be a disclaimer on the left-hand side of the screen. The disclaimer will say either “is in VEI area A or B”or “is NOT in VEI area A or B”.
Replace Lost Or Stolen Az License Plate
Should you lose your AZ license plates, you’ll need to replace them immediately. You may do so either in person or .
NOTE: Notify the police if you suspect your plate was stolen.
Visit any MVD office with:
- One form of identification .
- Either the license plate number or vehicle identification number .
- Payment to cover the $5 replacement fee.
If it’s a standard plate and it is in stock, you should receive it before you leave. If you’ve requested a specialized license plate, the MVD will mail it to you. The license plate tabs will not be given to you at a MVD office or 3rd party vendor the tabs will be mailed to you.
Replace by Mail
- A completed Plate Notice .
- Check or money order to cover the $5 replacement fee and first class postage.
You May Like: How To Keep Your Car Doors From Freezing Shut
Required Documentation To Register A Vehicle In Arizona
To register a vehicle in the state of Arizona, residents of this state must visit their local AZ Motor Vehicle Division in person. Prior to registering a vehicle, individuals need to make sure they have:
- Proof of a valid Arizona auto insurance policy that meets the state of Arizonas required coverage amounts of:
- $25,000 per person
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $15,000 per accident for property damage
To make the registration and titling process more convenient, the state of Arizona allows its residents to register and title their vehicles at the same time. To learn more about vehicle titling, .
Az Temporary Registrations & Trip Permits
Temporary operating permits are available for vehicles that still need time to gather all the necessary paperwork, documents, and test results for registration.
These permits allow for newly acquired vehicles to legally be driven on public roads before they are able to qualify for full registration.
AZ MVD offers:
- A 3-day restricted use permit.
- A 90-day temporary vehicle registration.
Don’t Miss: Places That Accept Carcareone
How To Register A Golf Cart In Arizona
Register your golf cart with the Arizona Motor Vehicles Division and obtain a license plate by visiting any of the divisions offices. In Apache Junction, at 575 N. Idaho Road, just north of Apache Trail, there is an MVD that is the closest to SSV .
- For example, the Arizona Department of Motor Vehicles requires that all golf cart owners register their carts. This registration may be completed immediately at the DMV in the same manner as you would for any other type of motor vehicle registration.
- Before registering your cart, check to see that it has a valid VIN, or Vehicle Identification Number, on it.
Vehicles Purchased From A Private Party
In Arizona, you must register and transfer the title of your vehicle within 15 days from the date of purchase. Otherwise, the Arizona MVD may assess a penalty.
NOTE: Arizona vehicle registration expires upon the sale or transfer of a vehicle.. In other words, any used vehicle you purchase will have expired registration. To operate the vehicle you must purchase a Restricted Use 3-Day Permit, available at EZ Permit, or at any AZ MVD office.
To register your vehicle, visit your local AZ MVD office and present:
- Payment for your AZ car registration and fees.
Mail payment and all required documents to:
Motor Vehicle Division
Also Check: How To Replace Car Title In Florida
Is Proof Of Insurance Required To Register A Car In Arizona
In the state of Arizona you have 30 days to submit proof of insurance after registering your vehicle. There is a mandatory insurance requirement that states the drivers must have the following liability coverage:
- $25,000 for bodily injury for a single person
- $50,000 for bodily injury for two people or more
- $15,000 for any property damage
If you dont get car insurance in Arizona, you can be subject to fees and license suspension. If you need car insurance or want to find the best rates possible, check out pay-per-mile car insurance. Through pay-per-mile insurance, you can pay a lower amount for car insurance as youre only responsible for paying for the miles you drive and a base rate. Metromile customers saved an average of $741* per year by making the switch.
Arizona Boat Registration Fees
Arizona boat registration fees depend on the length of the boat and an individuals residential status. The registration fees for AZ residents with the Arizona Game and Fish Department are as follows:
- Arizona residents:
- 12 ft or less: $20
- 12 ft 1 in to 16 ft: $22
- 16 ft 1 in to 20 ft: $30
- 20 ft 1 in to 26 ft: $35
- 26 ft 1 in to 39 ft: $39
- 39 ft 1 in to 64 ft: $44
- 64 ft 1 in and over: $66
Recommended Reading: What Percentage Do Car Salesmen Make