How Do I Register A Vehicle In Illinois Using Ert
To submit an Illinois registration of vehicle application utilizing the ERT System, applicants must begin by entering their last name, drivers license number, and the last four digits of their Social Security Number into the system for the first time. The following information is also necessary for car registration purposes, in addition to the above:
What You Need To Register Your Car At Department Of Motor Vehicles
how to register a car in illinois from another statecan i register my car online in illinoishow to register a car in illinois during coronavirushow do i transfer my car registration to illinoisillinois vehicle registrationillinois vehicle registration fee 2021illinois vehicle registration renewalregistration expired 2 years ago illinois
Car Insurance Requirements For Registering A Car In Illinois
Before you can register a car in Illinois, you will need to get a liability insurance policy. This policy needs to cover:
- $20,000 worth of property damage caused by an accident.
- $25,000 worth of medical or funeral costs caused to each individual during an accident.
- $50,000 worth of medical or funeral costs caused during the accident.
Insurance companies offer a variety of other policies, and you may choose to get those policies in order to further mitigate the financial risks of a crash. However, you are only required to get the above liability coverage. Your policy needs to come from a company that is licensed to do business in Illinois.
Recommended Reading: Cost Of Registration In Texas
Where Do You Register Your Vehicle
You may register your vehicle at your localSecretaryy of State office in the county where you live. Bring the information described and forms described in the previous section. Also be prepared to pay a base fee of $196 and Use Taxes. There may be additional fees depending on vehicle type and your county.
You should receive plates and a vehicle registration sticker from the SOS office.
License Plates & Car Title Transfers In Illinois
If you are planning to purchase or otherwise acquire a vehicle, you must transfer the car title into your name. To legally operate the vehicle, the license plates must also be up-to-date. We can process the title transfer, provide new plates, and even issue a new Illinois plate sticker if necessary.
New car? If youve recently bought, traded for, or received a vehicle as a gift, we can help you file the necessary paperwork to legally drive it in Illinois. Well transfer the car title and registration into your name so you can get on the road with your new vehicle as soon as possible. By completing and filing the Application for Vehicle Transaction and paying the title fees required by the state, the car will be officially yours!
Are you a new resident? We can help you get set up! If you have just moved to Illinois, WSCE can help you register your vehicle. Moving is complicated enoughour friendly and knowledgeable associates are trained to help make this part of your transition smooth and stress-free.
Selling or gifting your vehicle? If youre privately selling your vehicle or passing it on to a friend or family member, visit WSCE. We can help you file the correct paperwork associated with transferring the title of your vehicle in Illinois. We take the hassle out of your vehicle title transfer and can even help the recipient with their vehicle registration in Illinois.
Read Also: How Do I Get A Paper Title In Florida
Illinois Class L Or Class M Motorcycle License
The process for obtaining a Class L or Class M endorsement is the same for either license. Ohio residents who choose to complete an IDOT-approved Motorcycle Safety Course will be exempt from the written and driving exam that is required to obtain a Class L or Class M motorcycle endorsement.
Otherwise, Illinois residents can prepare for the exams by studying the Motorcycle Operator Manual and by taking practice tests. To receive an Illinois motorcycle or motor-driven cycle endorsement, IL residents can visit an IL SOS location and submit:
- Proof of identity
- A completion card from a Motorcycle Rider Education course .
- Applicants 16 to 17 years old must complete the Motorcycle Rider Education course to be eligible for a Class M license. Residents of Illinois who are in this age range must also still take the on-cycle skills exam.
- Applicants 18 years old or older may present a course completion card to waive both the written and on-cycle driving tests.
What Vehicles Are Exempt From Registration In Illinois
Anything that is driven or anything that is pulled on the roads is titled and licensed. Off-road motorcycles and ATVs are titled but are not registered. Pop-up campers and all other kinds of campers that are pulled behind a vehicle are both titled and registered. Slide-in campers or pop-up campers that are affixed to the vehicle or part of the vehicle are neither titled or registered.
Also Check: Is Nissan An American Company
Vehicle License Title And Registration Requirements
If a dealer secures a vehicle and holds it for resale and procures the Certificate of Title or Certificate of Origin from the owner or lienholder within 10 days, he or she need not send the Certificate to the Secretary of State providing there is space for reassignment, but, upon transferring the vehicle to a retail customer, shall promptly and within 20 days execute the assignment of title, showing the name and address of the buyer and the lienholder if any. The dealer is required to mail or deliver to the Secretary of State along with the Uniform Invoice, Transaction Reporting Return , along with the tax payment, the application for title and/or registration the surrender title or C of O and the title and/or registration fee.
Correct fee for title is $150.00, transfer of plate fee is $25.00. registration fees vary depending on the type of plates required for the particular vehicle.
If an original title is lost the vehicle owner can apply for a duplicate title. The application form must be completed and submitted to the Secretary of State along with the fee of $50.00, the application must indicate the current odometer reading.
A junking Certificate of Title must be applied for when a vehicle is to be sold for junk or scrap. The owner must complete an application for junking certificate and return the current title to the Secretary of State. No fee is required.
The following is a schedule of fees for titles, transfer of plates, various license plates:
Waiving The Written And Driving Exams
Completion of an IDOT motorcycle safety course will qualify drivers 18 years old and older to waive both the written and driving exams when getting their Class L or Class M license. Applicants 16 to 17 years old who complete the course must still take the driving exam and the written test.
To waive the exams, IL residents must present a completion card from an IDOT Motorcycle Rider Education course. The completion card is valid for 1 year.
Also Check: How To Fix A Burn Hole In My Car Seat
Can I Register A Car In Illinois With An Out Of State Title
The original title and registration, as well as an Application for a Vehicle Transaction and evidence of domicile, are required when registering an automobile in Illinois that was previously registered in another state. If you have a lien on the vehicle, youll need a copy of the title as well as the bill of sale to prove your ownership.
What Do I Need To Transfer A Car Title In Illinois
To transfer a car title in Illinois for a vehicle you just purchased, simply bring the title, your ID, and a proof of address to your local WSCE. Well take care of everything from there and have you in and out faster than it would take to drive to the DMV. For other transactions, give us a call or visit the Illinois state website for information about the documents youll need.
You May Like: What Is The Fastest Car In Forza Horizon 3
Illinois Car Registration Overview
You must register your vehicle through the Illinois Secretary of State facility. Below you will find details about the IL car registration process and what to expect: whether you have purchased the vehicle from an Illinois car dealer or from a private-party seller, and whether you are a current resident or new to Illinois.
What to bring to the IL SOS:
- A valid drivers license.
- Acceptable form of payment for IL car registration fees and taxes.
Continue reading below for more details about how to register a vehicle in Illinois.
What Do I Need To Register A Custom Vehicle
To register a custom vehicle or street rod, head to the Electronic Registration and Title System to print out a registration form. Then, gather the following documents:
- Documentation showing the original vehicle identification number for the body of the car. This document should include a certificate of origin from the manufacturer, the original title , or an original bill of sale from a previous owner.
- Documentation showing the original VINs of the vehicles engine and chassis.
- Certification from the National Street Rod Association after they have completed their inspection.
- A check covering your registration fees and taxes .
Take your printed form and documents in person to your local Secretary of State office, or mail them directly to:
Illinois Secretary of State
Read Also: Credco Auto Loan
Why You Must Register Your Car In Illinois
When you register your car in the state you live, youre claiming ownership of that vehicle. Registering your vehicle creates a paper trail that connects you to your car and the state. So when you get pulled over, you can provide registration, car insurance, and identification to prove youre the owner of the vehicle youre driving.
On top of that, registering your car is a legal requirement. If you dont register your vehicle, you could end up with a fine. Registration is also how you can prove that youve paid any associated fees and taxes to be a driver on the road.
Vehicle Registration Fees In Il
In Illinois, vehicle registration fees depend on vehicle type, plate type and weight. Below are some of the applicable fees for your initial vehicle registration.
- License plates transfer fee: $25.
- Original title certificate fee: $155.
- Duplicate/corrected title fee: $50.
- Replacement registration ID card fee: $3.
- Sales tax Tax must be paid on all vehicle sales between individuals using Private Party Vehicle Tax Transaction .
- The DMV calculates the amount of tax using:
- The model year of the vehicle if the selling price is less than $15,000.
- The selling price, if it is more than $15,000.
Don’t Miss: Repair Cigarette Burn In Car Headliner
How To Change A Car Registration Address In Illinois
Vehicle owners wondering how to change a car registration address in Illinois must note that the Office of the Secretary of State offers various methods to update the address on a vehicle registration. Note that, regardless of the method chosen to change car registration address, you will be required to inform the SOS Vehicle Services Department within a limited time period after the change.
Note that changing car registration address in IL is a process that is different from the driving license address change, since the state SOS keeps separate drivers license and car registration records. To learn more about the IL address change on car registration transaction continue reading the following sections.
How Much Will License Plates Cost In Illinois In 2021
According to the new law, which went into effect on Jan. 1, Illinois motorists who drive conventional automobiles weighing 8,000 pounds or fewer saw their registration payments increase from $98 to $148. There was a $100 rise in the registration fees for all other heavy vehicles, including trailers and buses.
You May Like: Car Rental Companies With Aarp Discount
What You Need To Know About Illinois Vehicle Registration
Youll need to register your vehicle in Illinois if youre a new resident or recently purchased a car. Its an important step to make sure youre up-to-date with your paperwork and responsibilities as a car owner.
Weve broken down what you need to do to get started with Illinois vehicle registration. Heres how to register a car in Illinois and what you might need to know.
How Much Is The Doc Fee In Illinois
The maximum amount that Illinois dealers can charge in 2021 for documentary preparation fees is $303.60, the Illinois attorney generals office announced Dec. 10. The $3.60 increase over the 2020 maximum fee reflects a 1.2 percent rise in the federal consumer price index for the 12-month period ending Nov.
You May Like: Replace Clear Coat On Car
Registering A Used Car In Illinois
Here is how to get vehicle registration in Illinois for a used car:
- Get liability insurance for the vehicle.
- Get the Illinois vehicle title, which should be signed over to you. This title should include the date of sale and an accurate reading of the odometer.
- Fill out the Odometer Disclosure Statement.
- Submit the above documents, proof of insurance and Application for Vehicle Transaction online, in-person or via the mail.
- Pay the registration fee. Acceptable forms of payment include debit cards, credit cards, a check or cash.
How do I figure out where to register my car in Illinois? is one of the Secretary of States most frequently asked questions. If you choose to submit the paperwork via the mail, you can send it to the following address:
Secretary of StateVehicle Services DepartmentERT Section, Rm. 424501 S. Second St.Springfield, IL. 62756
If you choose to go in person, you can submit it at any Secretary of State office. You will not be required to schedule an appointment. You may also use the Secretary of States online portal.
Is It Better To Gift A Car Or Sell It For $1
While some car owners consider selling the car for a dollar instead of gifting it, the DMV gift car process is the recommended, not to mention more legitimate, way to go. They might not like the car or might be offended by a hand-me-down gift. Be sure that they afford insurance and maintenance costs.
Recommended Reading: How To Prevent Car Door From Freezing
When Are You Required To Transfer Your Out
In the state of Illinois, you are allowed to use your valid out-of-state drivers license for 90 days once you establish residency in this state. Once the 90-day grace period expires, you must obtain a new Illinois drivers license or identification card if you plan on becoming a resident of this state.
Registering Vehicles Purchased From An Il Dealer
When you purchase a vehicle from a licensed Illinois car dealership, they will take care of the registration process for you. The dealer will submit all necessary documents to the IL SOS on your behalf. Most Illinois car dealers have the authority to issue temporary IL registration and plates until your permanent decals arrive by mail.
The dealer must submit the following for you:
- Sales Tax Transaction Return . Vehicles purchased from a dealer are subject to vehicle sales tax.
- A check for taxes made payable to the Illinois Dept. of Revenue.
Recommended Reading: How To Remove Scratches From A Car Door
How To Register A Car In Illinois As A New Resident
If you plan to operate your vehicle on state roads, you will need to get it registered. You must fulfill the Illinois car registration requirements no more than 30 days after your residency has been established.
Assuming your vehicle has previously been registered in another state, you will need to submit the following vehicle registration details:
- A VSD-190 form
- Odometer Disclosure Statement
The title, registration, bill of sale and lease purchase agreement will also be required if the vehicle has been leased but not purchased. As well, you will need to submit a tax form. The RUT-50 is for vehicles purchased from an out-of-state individual, while the RUT-25 is for vehicles purchased from an out-of-state dealers.
How Do I Renew My Car Registration In Illinois
One will receive a renewal notice prior or can keep track of the renewal date on the registration card. In case you do not have a renewal notice or a current registration card, please call the Public Inquiry Division at 800-252-8980 or 217-785-3000 to obtain your Registration ID and PIN number.
Once you have the ID and PIN number ready, then the renewal of car registration can be done online, Touch-Tone phone system , by mail, or in person.
Read Here: A Handy Guide to Illinois Drivers License Renewal
Also Check: How To Remove Scratches From Vinyl Dashboard
Pass The Written Test
The written test for the state of Illinois consists of 35 multiple choice questions. These multiple-choice questions cover essential traffic laws and road signs throughout the state. In order to pass the IL written test, you must obtain a score of 80% or higher, which means you cant miss more than 7 questions.
Address Changes On Il Vehicle Registration
You can change your address with the IL DMVonline, by mail, or in person.
Please note, you must notify the DMV of your address change within 10 days of the address change. This will ensure you receive your vehicle registration notices.
Online Address Change in Illinois
To change your address online, please visit the IL SOS websites address change portal.
Be sure to select either verified OR non verified change. You can view the differences below.
- Verified address change.
- A verified address change is an immediate update of the address on the vehicle registration. This option requires your Registration ID code and PIN number. Youll need to pay $3 plus $1 processing fee.
The IL SOS will also request your vehicle information and your new address.
Don’t Miss: How To Keep Car Door From Freezing Shut