Making The Actual Title Transfer
Transferring a car title to another owner is a relatively standard process across the country but exact laws vary by state, so be sure to confirm the process with your local DMV. First, request that the seller assign the current title to you with a notarized signature. Youll need to submit this along with a completed title application and an odometer disclosure agreement. You may also be charged a fee. Then, use the following details to help you correctly maneuver the title transfer process.
When buying from a dealership, the dealership will locate the title for you. If you are paying for the car yourself, the dealer will provide you with the title and coordinate the rest of the paperwork, like the odometer disclosure. If you are financing the vehicle, theyll send the title to the lender.
When buying from a private seller, expect a slightly more complex process. If the seller has paid off the vehicle and has full ownership, the steps are simple. You just need the owner to sign the sellers section of the title and give you a bill of sale, then submit the necessary paperwork to the DMV. If youre financing the vehicle, see Buying a car with a lien below.
When you’re the seller
- Provide a copy of the title to confirm lien and ownership status
- Assign the title to the buyer, providing a notarized signature if necessary
- Give your contact information to the buyer, and quickly respond to their inquiries
What Are The Ky Title Transfer Fees
Titling fees in Kentucky vary by county. For specific title transfer fees, contact your county clerk. Your title will generally be prepared and sent to you within 5 business days of its receipt, provided it is complete and accurate.
You can pay an additional $25 for speed title services . A speed title must be made available to you within 1 business day of the Kentucky Department of Vehicle regulation receiving notification of your title application.
You can also expect to pay a sales tax of 6% of the retail value of your car, or 6% of the purchase price.
Transferring A Title To Family Members
You can give a vehicle as a gift to a family member, who may be exempt from paying taxes on it. The receiving family member must complete and submit a Sales Tax Exemption form MVU-26 to determine whether he or she will need to pay taxes on the vehicle.
This exemption exists only for immediate family members, which are designated as:
The process follows the same steps found in the Selling a Vehicle section listed above, with one difference: instead of a purchase price, write “Gift” in the price section or on the Bill of Sale.
Read Also: What Year Is My Club Car Golf Cart
Procedure Of Transfer Of Ownership Of Vehicle
The procedure for the transfer of ownership of the vehicle is different for different cases.
- Transfer of ownership of the vehicle in case it is purchased by someone else:
Transfer A Title When You Move To Connecticut
After establishing residency, you have 60 days to register and title your vehicle with the CT DMV. For your convenience, both transactions can be completed during the same visit. For more information on obtaining a vehicle registration certificate, visit our CT Car Registration page.
The DMV only requires a certificate of title for vehicles that are 20 years old and newer. If your car or truck was manufactured before then, you do not need to title your vehicle in the state.
To obtain a CT title, visit any Connecticut DMV office with:
- The vehicle’s title properly assigned to you.
- If the vehicle is over 20 years old, no title is required.
- Vehicles exempt from emissions must have proof of a VIN inspection. Inspection fee is $10.
The CT DMV will mail the title certificate to you.
Also Check: Avis Car Rental Owner
Documents Required To Transfer Vehicle Ownership
As per the official RTO vehicle transfer procedure, the following documents will be required:
- RC: The original registration certificate of the seller needs to be submitted to the RTO
- Form 29 : Form 29 needs to be submitted along with passport size photograph of the seller and the buyer. The form should also be duly signed. .
- Form 30 : Form 30 needs to be submitted along with passport size photograph of the seller and the buyer. The form should be duly signed. .
- Form 28 : It is required in case the vehicle has to be transferred to the RTO other than the one where the vehicle was registered. This form might not be required if the vehicle is being transferred from one city to another within a state. But, in some states like Maharashtra, it is mandatory.
Also Read RTO Code of Union Territories
So, the usage of Form 28 when the vehicle is transferred in the same state varies from city to city. However, for the inter-state transfers, Form 28 is mandatory. .
Also Read Steps to RTO Hypothecation Removal from RC after Car Loan Closure
Generally, it is around Rs.300 for cars. If you choose to get your work done by an agent, they will charge you hefty amounts.
In case you want to sell your car and have queries about the documents required, you can find the details about all the documents required to sell a car here.
Obtain A Duplicate Ct Vehicle Title
If you cannot locate your certificate of title, you’ll need to apply for a replacement by:
- Completing an Application for Replacement Certificate of Title .
- Providing a lien release, if applicable, on the lienholder’s letterhead.
- If the lien is more than 10 years old and you have difficulty tracking down the lienholder, include a completed Motor Vehicle Ownership Affidavit instead.
If the vehicle is 20 years old or less, you can either visit any DMV office for immediate processing. You must be the owner, legal representative via power of attorney, or recognized lien holder to receive the duplicate title.
Alternatively, you may mail the above to:
Department of Motor Vehicles
You May Like: Can You Lease A Car Through Carvana
Check Your Vehicle Ownership Transfer Status On Phone Via Sms
In case vahan site is not working, alternate method to check vehicle details including hypothecation status is by SMS
- The number for the service is 7738299899
- The format for the SMS is vahan followed by the registered number of the vehicle. e.g. vahan DL0CAB1234. This service will notify you about the RC transfer status and status of hypothecation on the vehicle
Also read How to Check Your Driving Licence Status Online?
What Is The Process Of Rc Transfer
After selling your car, you have to apply for the RC transfer within 14 days of the sale of the vehicle. As mentioned earlier, you have to intimate the RTO and apply for the vehicle ownership transfer. There will be a set of documents that will come in handy for the entire transfer to happen. They are mentioned below:
You May Like: How To Make Car Freshies
How Do I Transfer Ownership Of A Car To A Family Member
In simple situations where you own the vehicle outright and wish to transfer ownership to someone else, all you must do is complete a title certificate. Once you have filled out and signed the certificate, the buyer or recipient can take the title to a local DMV office and officially transfer ownership.
Getting A New Car Title Versus Title Transfers In Louisiana
Getting a new car title in Louisiana is a different procedure than transferring an existing certificate of title. Therefore, vehicle owners are encouraged to discover more detailed information about the difference between these two procedures before filing a request.
For instance, motorists may order a new car title through the Office of Motor Vehicles of the states Department of Public Safety . Moreover, in order to apply for a new car title, drivers need to be new LA residents who wish to title their out-of-state vehicles or current residents who have purchased a brand-new car.
In order to transfer a DMV new title in Louisiana, vehicle owners will have to hold the current vehicle title in their possession and transfer it to another person.
In most cases, the process of transferring a new title for a car from one legal entity to another is performed when a vehicle is sold. However, a title transfer may be also conducted in other situations, such as when a vehicle is received as a gift or donation, or as part of an inheritance.
Recommended Reading: How To Fix Car Clear Coat
More Complicated Scenarios In Transferring A Car Title
There are some situations in which its slightly more complicated to transfer a car title. If you have a car loan, its possible that your lender is holding the cars title. If youre looking to sell your car, most states will require you to also include a lender affidavit. This shows that the lender is aware of the change in ownership. In most cases, the lender will require you to pay off the existing loan in full before you can transfer the car title.
Another scenario to be aware of is what happens after you sign the title and give it to the new owner. Until the buyer takes title to the car in their name, you are still legally responsible for it. For that reason, its often recommended that the seller accompany the buyer to the title office. That way, you can make sure that the buyer puts the title in their own name.
One exception to this might be if you are selling your car to a dealership . The rules vary by state, but in many cases, the dealer will not actually take the title in their name. Instead, they will have you sign the title, then hold onto it until it can be processed in the name of the end buyer. Most states have a time limit, such as 30 or 45 days, in which the new buyer must apply for a title.
Is It Better To Gift A Car Or Sell It For $1
While some car owners consider selling the car for a dollar instead of gifting it, the DMV gift car process is the recommended, not to mention more legitimate, way to go. They might not like the car or might be offended by a hand-me-down gift. Be sure that they afford insurance and maintenance costs.
Recommended Reading: How Do I Get My Car Title In Florida
Changing A Name On A Title
Present to any CT Division of Motor Vehicles office:
- The original certificate of title. Sign and show the name change on the backside of the title.
- If a lien holder has the title, it needs to be released for transfer purposes only.”
- If there is no title, complete a Supplemental Assignment of Ownership .
Title Transfers When Buying A Vehicle
The process for transferring a title when you buy a car in Alabama differs depending on whether you’re purchasing the vehicle from a dealer or a private seller.
Buying from a Dealer
Licensed dealers in Alabama are authorized to process car title transfers themselves. This means that when you buy a car from a dealer, you will have to do little more than sign some papers to get your Alabama title.
Buying from a Private Seller
Take the following steps to complete an Alabama vehicle title transfer when purchasing a car from a private seller:
- Have the seller assign the title certificate to you by completing all required fields on the certificate.
- Complete any required fields on the title as the purchaser.
- Obtain a bill of sale. You are only required to have a bill of sale if no title is required.
- Each county has its own rules regarding bill of sales, which may include having the document notarized. Contact your county office for more information.
You can visit the MVD’s Public Title PortalPublic Title Portal to check the status of your application.
You May Like: How To Install Rear Facing Car Seat
When Is A Vehicle Title Transfer Required In Louisiana
A Louisiana car title transfer is a procedure of transmitting ownership rights over a motor vehicle to another legal entity and it may be required in various situations. For instance, transferring a car title is a process that individuals need to perform when selling, donating or trading a motor vehicle.
However, a legal motor vehicle title transfer procedure will not be legally completed until the new owners complete a title application. Therefore, in order to perform a successful title transfer for cars in Louisiana, motorists need to prepare a list of documents and information, as well as try to satisfy a set of requirements necessary for completing the procedure.
Transfer Of Vehicle Ownership In Case Of Sale Of The Vehicle
Fill Form 29 correctly with relevant details of the buyer and the seller in the case of transfer of ownership due to the sale of the vehicle.
After verifying the details, submit the form with the RTO of the area where the transferor and the transferee have their residence.
If the vehicle transfer is taking place from one state to another, the new owner has to provide Form 30 within 45 days of the transfer, along with the documents related to Form 1 and Form 2.
If the vehicle transfer is taking place within the state, the new owner has to provide Form 30 in 14 days of the transfer along with the documents requested with Form 1.
The buyer also has to deposit the charges levied under Rule 81 of the General Motor Vehicles Rules 1989.
In case of transfer vehicle ownership online, the necessary documents must be uploaded on the Parivahan website.
Read Also: Maaco Paint Semi Truck
Getting A No Objection Certificate
If the car you have purchased does not belong at the local RTO, you will have to apply for a NOC from the RTO where the car has been registered. If the car hasnt been bought in the state, it will need to be de-registered from the state it belongs to and re-registered in Chennai.
You can do so by following the process mentioned below:
Along with Form 29, a set of additional documents will need to be submitted which are:
- NOC from the financing bank if the car is under hypothecation
- Form 28
- Documents for proof of payment of road tax
- Valid PUC Certificate
How To Perform A Title Transfer In Louisiana
A car title transfer in Louisiana is a required procedure that motorists need to perform when transferring the ownership rights over a motor vehicle to another legal entity. In other words, a process of title transfers for cars must be completed through the state Office of Motor Vehicles when selling, donating or trading a motor vehicle.
Overall, a set of title transfer requirements must be satisfied in order to be eligible for such a procedure. To learn more information about how to transfer a vehicle title from one owner to another in Louisiana, continue reading the following sections.
Recommended Reading: How To Remove Hail Dents From Car
Deleting A Name On A Ct Title
Remove a name by visiting any CT Department of Motor Vehicles office with:
- The title certificate showing the deleted name on the back. Both owners must sign the title.
- If a lien holder carries the title, it needs to be released for transfer purposes only.”
- If there is no title, complete a Supplemental Assignment of Ownership .
When I Transfer My Car Title Do I Keep My License Plates
It may depend on where you live, but some states recommend you remove your license plates from a vehicle when you transfer the car title to someone else. This is because the new owner will receive their own set of plates when they register the car. It also protects you from receiving parking or traffic violations from someone else using a vehicle with your plates on them. In other states, like California, the plates are required to remain with the vehicle unless you make a special request.
Also Check: How Much Do High End Car Salesmen Make