How To Register A Vehicle
A car registration is an essential task for all motorists who own vehicles. As a general rule, every state requires its residents to properly register any vehicles that will be driven on public roadways. The procedure of obtaining a new car registration is typically administered by a states Department of Motor Vehicles . On the other hand, there are often significant variations between states that regard the exact rules and requirements that apply to the vehicle registration process. For example, many DMVs restrict registration documents to residents who have valid drivers licenses that were issued in the states where they reside. Conversely, states like South Dakota do not require motorists to be residents or submit driving credentials in order to register a vehicle.
The DMV registration is often used as a gateway safety measure. States use their registration criteria to keep unsafe vehicles and motorists out of public roadways and to efficiently levy vehicle-related sales taxes and other fees. As a result, certain motorists can regularly expect to undergo safety checkups, emissions inspections and vehicle identification number verifications as part of the registration procedure. To learn more about how to register a car in your state, read the sections below.
New York Car Registration Requirements
If you’re a non-resident in New York, you don’t need to register it in New York as long as it’s registered in another state. If you’re moving to New York, you must register your cars within 30 days of moving to the state.
To learn more about registering a car in New York, read our blog post: How to register a car in New York.
Pennsylvania Car Registration Requirements
If you are a non-resident in Pennsylvania and your vehicle is registered in another state, you don’t have to register it again. All new residents are required to apply for a Pennsylvania title and vehicle registration within 20 days of residing there.
To learn more about registering a car in Pennsylvania, read our blog post: How to register a car in Pennsylvania.
You May Like: How To Remove Scuff Marks From Car Exterior
Temporarily Residing Out Of State
For a checklist and additional information, .
Your renewal notice will not be forwarded to an out of state address.
To renew your license plates, you will need:
NOTE: A $5 renewal penalty will be charged if you renew your plates after the expiration date.
NOTE: Upon returning to Missouri the vehicle must be safety inspected within 10 days. The vehicle must also be emissions inspected within 10 days, if applicable.
How Do I Get A Plate/placard For Someone With Disabilities
In order to get a license plate or placard for persons with disabilities, you need to fill out the Application for Maryland Parking Placards/License Plates for Individuals with a Disability . . You’ll need to ask your doctor/physician to complete the disability certification portion of the application in order to qualify. Then, pop into our office and we’ll take care of the rest.
Recommended Reading: Odds Of Being Killed In A Car Crash
Disabled Veterans Dont Need Financial Help With Car Registration They Get It Free
Its true! When my husband was finally awarded a 100% rating through Individual Unemployability in October 2017, this was one of my very favorite perks. We never have to pay to register our car ever again!
In Washington State, certain disabled veterans are eligible for a special Disabled American Veteran license plate. This plate can only be ordered through the mail from the Special Plate Unit in Olympia, WA. You have to submit a completed application and proof of your disability.
In order to be eligible for this, the veteran must meet ONE of the following criteria:
- Be compensated at the 100% rate for a condition that is expected to exist for more than one year OR
- Be blind in both eyes due to military service OR
- Have lost the use of both hands or one foot
Washington State is not the only state that offers free vehicle registration to certain disabled veterans, either! I found this program in other states, too.
If you need financial help with car registration and youre a veteran, pay special attention to this section. Ive done a lot of research but sometimes the laws are confusing. Sometimes, they except the plate issuance fee, the registration and the taxes but sometimes, it only waives one or two of those things. You will need to talk to your local county and state government for more information about the specific laws in your state.
Veterans rated 100% disabled are exempt from vehicle registration fees in the following states:
Renew Registration By Mail Or In Person
To renew your TN vehicle registration by mail, you’ll need:
- Your renewal notice or your vehicle information.
- Payment for the renewal fee. See the Fees to Renew Your TN Registration” section below.
Mail or take your documents in person to your local Tennessee DMV county clerk office.
NOTE: If you are an active duty military member, you will need to bring additional documents. See the Military Member Vehicle Registration Renewal” section below.
Recommended Reading: How Much Is It To Get Car Painted
Tn Vehicle Registration Renewal Notice
Before your vehicle registration expires, the Tennessee DOR will mail you a registrationrenewal notice.
If your county requires a vehicle inspection and emissions test, you will need to get your vehicle checked before you renew your registration. Please see the Vehicle Inspections & Emissions Testing” section below.
NOTE: If you’ve lost or never received a registration renewal notice, you can renew your registration with any document that shows your:
- License plate number.
- Vehicle identification number .
Do I Need License Plates To Get Auto Insurance
Can you get car insurance without a license plate? Since, as you already know, typically you have do have insurance to get plates and register your vehicle, it follows that you are not required to have your vehicle registered in order to purchase insurance.
In fact, you dont even need to own a vehicle in order to obtain certain kinds of car insurance coverage, like non-owners insurance.
Also Check: Easy Clear Coat Repair
When Do I Get My Title After Paying My Vehicle Off
Typically after you make your last payment to the bank or dealership your car title will be sent to you in the mail. The title that is sent to you should reflect all the correct information, including having your name and address on it, since youre the true owner of the vehicle now.
If you dont receive it within a month, contact the bank that held your car loan to find out when you should receive it. And if you still run into issues, contact your local DMV.
Washington Dc Car Registration Requirements
In Washington, D.C. non-residents are allowed to drive their vehicle up to 30 days maximum. For an additional fee, you can extend the deadline up to 180 additional days. A non-resident can only purchase the extra 180 days once a year. If you’re moving to Washington, D.C., you have 30 days to register your vehicle.
Read Also: Removing Scratches From Car Interior Plastic
Schedule License Plate Light Replacement
The most popular service booked by readers of this article is License Plate Light Replacement. YourMechanics technicians bring the dealership to you by performing this job at your home or office 7-days a week between 7AM-9PM. We currently cover over 2,000 cities and have 100k+ 5-star reviews… LEARN MORE
Vehicle Registration For Military Members
Certain states offer different car registration requirements for military service members. For example, military personnel may be exempt from certain fees, qualify for extended deadlines and have access to additional benefits. On the other hand, assessing the types of applicants who qualify for these privileges differs from state to state. Overall, motorists who serve in the military and veterans can benefit from contacting their state DMV authorities in advance for details.
Read Also: Cracking Clear Coat Repair
Texas Car Registration Requirements
In Texas, a non-resident doesn’t need to register their vehicle if they plan not to make more than five occasional trips longer than five days each. If you plan to move to Texas, you have up to 30 days to register your vehicle with the state.
To learn more about registering a car in Texas, read our blog post: How to register a car in Texas.
Online Car Registration Renewal
For a list of counties that offer online registration renewals, please see the complete list provided on the TN DOR website.
To renew your vehicle registration online, visit the Tennessee DOR county clerk website and:
- Select your county from the menu.
- Enter your Tennessee license plate number.
- Pay the registration renewal fee .
Also Check: Where Can I Use My Synchrony Car Care Card At
What Paperwork Do I Need To Get A Temporary Tag
Every state has different requirements for issuing a temporary tag, but common items include:
Certificate of Title
A valid drivers license
Results of inspections or emissions testing, if applicable
Loan documentation or release, if applicable
Some states actually require you to show multiple forms of identification. One of them must be your government-issued ID while the other can be something like a utility bill. This is done to prove residency.
Do I Need My Car Title To Get Car Insurance
For the most part, no. Most car insurance providers dont require you to show the car title when youre purchasing a policy. For drivers with a car loan or lease, you typically wont even get the title with ownership rights until you pay off the loan.
You can also get insurance for a car you dont own by getting a nonowners car insurance policy.
Do I need my car title to register my car?
No, you dont need the title as long as you have proof the car is yours.
For example, if you have a loaned or leased car, you will need to show proof of ownership instead until you pay off your car and the title is in your name.
If you bought a car without any proof of title or ownership, youll need to contact the DMV about getting a new title. This should be a similar process as replacing a lost car title, though you might need to do a little more legwork to get proof the car is yours now.
Read Also: Aaa Car Transport Services
How Do I Get A New Car Title Or Check My Current Title
We get it, you may have lost your original title or never received one after buying or paying off your car. Unfortunately its going to take a bit of paperwork and a fee, typically less than $20, to get a new title sent to you. The good news is that it can be done through standard channels with your DMV.
These forms are accurate at the time of writing, but you might want to check with your local DMV to make sure you have the most recent forms.
Georgia Car Registration Requirements
In Georgia, you must register your vehicle in the state within 30 days of becoming a resident. A non-resident must register his/her vehicle if he/she is temporarily residing in Georgia for longer than 30 days. One must provide a valid license, proof of ownership and proof of insurance to the DMV.
To learn more about registering a car in Georgia, read our blog post: How to register a car in Georgia.
Read Also: Power Supply For Car Amp In House
What Happens If You Don’t Return Florida Plates
Floridalicenseif yousurrenderlicense plate when youplateDo I keep the plates when selling a car in Ohio?
What To Do With Old License Plates
What do I do with my old TN license plates?
As time wears on, plates may wear out and need to be replaced. If you want to replace your old plates with newer ones, you can do so by filling the same application and indicating that your plates are damaged and not lost.
You are only required to surrender your old plates if you no longer qualify for a specialty plate or youre switching from a vanity plate to a regular plate. If youre not doing either of these things, you can dispose of your old license plates by bending them so they cant be used and taking them to an aluminum recycling center.
Recommended Reading: Replacement Title Florida
Fees To Renew Your Tn Registration
Tennessee registration renewal fees vary depending on the type of vehicle you own.
- Regular license plate: $26.50.
- Visa, MasterCard, and Discover credit/debit card.
How To Renew License Plate Tags In Arkansas
In most cases, the Office of Motor Vehicle sends notices to remind vehicle owners to renew a license plate. Thus, these notices are sent before a vehicles registration certificate and license plate are set to expire. Each renewal notice includes specific instructions for renewing a license plate, as well as other vehicle registration materials. As such, drivers may request this renewal online, in person, over the phone or by mail. However, if motorists need to update their identification information at the time of renewal, they must typically visit an OMV office to renew tags in person.
When renewing car tags online, vehicle owners must use the Arkansas OMV official portal. Alternatively, if you are wondering how to renew a license plate by mail, be mindful that you must mail the vehicles renewal notice, proof of liability insurance and proof of personal property tax compliance to the appropriate OMV mailing address.
Recommended Reading: Suspending Car Insurance Geico
Can I Drive A Car Without Registration If I Just Bought It
You can drive a new car home without license plates. But most states allow you a period of 3 days to drive the car to your home. You must have a proof of insurance and an assigned title.
However, it varies by state because not all states permit you to drive home a new car with no license plate. Typically, every state expects you to register a car with the DMV before driving around legally.
By registering, you will get a license plate. You can also get a temporary plate before you drive a new car home. But while you wait for the license plate to arrive, typically by mail, you could drive or tow the vehicle home is the state offers a temporary provision for plates or permits.
I have collected the information regarding the laws governing how to drive a new car home without plates for each state. Simply, scroll down for your state and the applicable law.
How To Get License Plates In Arkansas
Applying for a DMV license plate in Arkansas is part of a vehicles initial registration and titling process. Regardless of whether a new or used vehicle was purchased, car owners must obtain new registration plates from the Office of Motor Vehicle under the state Department of Finance and Administration .
Motorists must get license plate credentials within 30 days of acquiring a vehicle in order to avoid penalty fees or possible citations from law enforcement officers. In addition to issuing car registration plates, the OMV manages the registration renewal process and the tag and registration replacement procedures. To learn more about how to obtain license plates or renew existing ones, review the sections below.
Read Also: Removing Scuff Marks From Car Interior
Usaa: Best For Military
In our USAA auto insurance review, we rate the company 5.0 stars out of 5.0 for a reason. USAA scored 890 out of 1,000 on the J.D. Power 2019 Auto Claims Satisfaction StudySM. Its easy to file claims through the USAA mobile app, which has an average 4.5-star review on Google Play. USAA also boasts an A++ rating from AM Best, the strongest rating possible.
USAA auto insurance is only available to military members and their families. If you are eligible to purchase USAA insurance, we think there is no better choice. Offering a range of discount options, USAA provides full coverage auto insurance that is both comprehensive and inexpensive.
Types Of License Plates In Arkansas
You must apply for car registration plates in Arkansas after you acquire a new or used vehicle from a dealership or third-party seller. Overall, the AK OMV offers a wide range of different car tags, such as:
- Standard plates for passenger vehicles, trucks, vans and motorcycles
- Standard plates for motor homes, manufactured homes, trailers or all-terrain vehicles
- College plates
- Personalized plates
- Temporary license plates
If you need to obtain temporary OMV car tags to use until your new license plates arrive, you may request them from a car dealership or from the Office of Motor Vehicle itself. Furthermore, the cost of these new registration plates will vary according to the type and weight of a vehicle.
Recommended Reading: What Kind Of Car Did Columbo Drive On Tv